Hey, It’s Charles’ Birfday!

Hello readers!  In case you were not aware, February 2012 marks Charles Dickens’ 200th Birthday (on February 7th)! 

In honor of this wonderful bicentennial extravenganza, events are being held world-wide.  If you are interested in looking at some of the events, you can go to this link:  Dickens 2012

As for me, I have decided that this month I am going to read a Charles Dickens novel.  And the winner is:

This is a novel I read parts of when it was assigned my freshman year of high school.  And why they expected honors high school freshmen to actually read this hefty novel, I don’t know.  I don’t think anyone in my grade actually finished this.  But it has been sitting on my shelf ever since, and I have always wanted to finish it, so what better a time than to celebrate the birth of this classic and influential author.  So throughout this month, I will be tackling this novel, and hopefully I will finish before the end of the month, but we will see.

Anyone want to join in Dickens 2012?  Let me know!

Love and dusty books,
Jennifer

I'd love to know your thoughts!

