Book Review: The Titan’s Curse

Title/Author:  The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan
(Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3)

Genre:  Middle Grade, Fantasy, Mythology

Published:  2007 by Miramax Books/Hyperion Books for Children

Audiobook, 528 minutes.

How I Got This Book:  Checked out the Hardcopy and Audiobook from my library

Why I Picked It Up?:  To continue reading this fantastic Middle Grade series!

Book Jacket Blurb:  ” When Percy Jackson receives an urgent distress call from his friend Grover, he immediately prepares for battle.  He knows he’ll need his powerful demigod allies, Annabeth and Thalia, at his side; his trusty bronze sword, Riptide; and…a ride from his mom.

The demigods race to the rescue, to find that Grover has made an important discovery:  two new powerful half-bloods whose parentage is unknown.  But that’s not all that awaits them.  The Titan lord, Kronos, has set up his most devious trap yet, and the young heroes have just fallen prey.

Hilarious and action-packed, this third adventure in the series finds Percy faced with his most dangerous challenge so far:  the chilling prophecy of the Titan’s curse.”

My Review of the Work:

*Spoiler Alert:  Though this review will not spoil this particular novel, it will spoil the second in this series.  So beware if you haven’t read it yet!*

Well, I cannot tell a lie–I did not enjoy this book as much as I did the first two.  That is not to say that this story wasn’t good–in fact, the ending of this book was the best ending so far.  There were just things about this book that annoyed me.  (Beware, here comes the three-part argument teehee).

First off, the transition between the end of book two and the beginning of book three just wasn’t enough for me.  The last line of The Sea of Monsters informed us that the girl who was once a tree–Thalia, the daughter of Zeus–is now alive!  And then, the first paragraph of this novel starts out as such:

“The Friday before winter break, my mom packed me an overnight bag and a few deadly weapons and took me to a new boarding school.  We picked up my friends Annabeth and Thalia on the way.”

His friend Thalia?  That he just met in the last sentence of the previous book?  And that’s all we get?!  This just didn’t sit well with me, and it started this book off on a bad foot.  I don’t like that Percy and Thalia are just assumed to be insta-friends, especially with the rival of their respective parents (Zeus and Poseidon) as well as the pressure of the prophecy, which only grew when Thalia recovered from her tree-ness.  SO the fact that Rick just ignores this facet of the story irked me, thus making me extremely annoyed as I began this book.

Secondly, Thalia is just SUPER ANNOYING!  But maybe it’s just me.  I just really couldn’t stand her.  She tried to take charge and live up to her “daughter of Zeus” expectations or whatever, but she was just rude and snippy and pushy.  It was almost like she was trying to be Annabeth (a character that I love) but she cannot be, so she just ends up being annoying.  She does redeem herself a bit at the end of the novel, but by then I am just exhausted with her and am just glad that it’s over.

And thirdly, the first 250 pages.  The mission/quest/adventure in this novel is just kind of all over the place, and I just did not like it as much as the first two.  It was a little bit more difficult to follow (though that might have had something to do with me listening to the audiobook…but IDK) and kind of sporadic, even for these novels.  We do, however, meet more of the 12 gods and goddesses (Apollo, Artemis, Athena, Aphrodite), and Percy’s interactions with each of them I did appreciate. I like that more of them were added to the plotline–it made this book more likeable to me.  But in all honesty, the first 250 pages were just kind of bland overall.

To say a little something about the positives (I cannot allow you followers to think this book is AWFUL, because it really isn’t):  The ending is PHENOMENAL!!!  Best ending sequence so far, by far!!  I loved the strategy, the fighting, and the wrap up of this all-over-the-place adventure.  And you really get a full understanding of where the series, and the adventures of Percy Jackson, are really headed.  But to get to the good, you have to suffer through the bland and boring.  But, in my opinion, it’s still worth it.

I am looking forward to continuing in this series.  And, because I am reading this series, I have been inspired to go back and read Edith Hamilton’s Mythology to familiarize myself with the myths again.  Hooray for Greek Mythology and for learning new things while reading a book!

My Bookshelf Rating:

A Middle Shelf Book.

I just did not enjoy this book as a whole as much as the first two.  However, it has a kick-butt ending!  And I am still excited for the rest of the series.

Love and “Golden Afternoon”,
Jennifer

P.S.  Bonus points if you know what movie ^ refers to and can tell me! =)

I'd love to know your thoughts!

