Follow Friday! (7)

A Weekly Blogger Meet Blogger Meme, hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee, where you answer the question and find new blogs to follow.

Question of the Week:  I like unique names for characters and am looking forward to coming up with some when I start writing. What’s the most unique character name you’ve come across?

It’s an interesting question.  I cannot really tell you the most unique name I have come across.  I can, however, tell you that I love it when characters have really pretty and unique names.  One of my favorite novels, A Thousand Splendid Suns, features a girl named Laila.  I have fallen in love with this name–it is just so beautiful.  Another name I have fallen in love with is Tolan, which was actually the name of a small boy in the Left Behind Kids Series that I read forever ago, but I never forgot it because I just think it is so unique and cute.  I will [husband permitting] hopefully name my future children with these names I have fallen in love with because I read them in novels.  I attach myself to unique names, and I appreciate authors who come up with them. 

What’s the most unique name YOU’VE come across?  Let me know!

Love and happy Friday!,
Jennifer

9 thoughts on “Follow Friday! (7)

  1. Xan says:

    I read a lot of genre fiction so strange name abound but in more contemporary SF, Poppy Z Brite's Lost Souls features characters called Ghost, Nothing, Malachai, Twiggy and Zillah – I think those are pretty unique.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

