Follow Friday! (10)

A Weekly Blogger Meet Blogger Meme, hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee, where you answer the question and find new blogs to follow.

Today’s Follow Friday Question is:

Have you ever looked at book’s cover and thought, This is going to horrible? But, was instead pleasantly surprised? Show us the cover and tell us about the book.

Another interesting question.  I do remember one book that I continually glanced at while in the library but continually passed by.  And it looks like this:

Between the title and the cover, it just didn’t seem like something that would be that great.  BUT BOY WAS I WRONG!!  Thankfully, my roomate at the time picked it up on a whim and read it and was like, “Jennifer, read this now.”  So I did.  And it is beautiful and lovely and all sorts of good.  =)
And then there was this night on my honeymoon this past summer where I had finished reading all of the Harry Potter books I had brought with me and was in dire need of something else to read.  So we trekked over to the Barnes and Noble (yes, my husband IS that wonderful =)  ) and I was looking around when my eye caught this book.
This is one of those books where the Title caught my eye, but the cover was kind of bland.  But then I read the description and it sounded intriguing enough that I ended up buying it, hoping it would at least be something enjoyable to read for the rest of the trip.  And it was, and sooo much more.  This novel is beautifully written and was quite a pleasant surprise for me.  I just absolutely adored it!
So there you have it.  Covers/titles that looked a little bland, but true treasures were discovered.
What have you found surprising?  Have you read either of these two novels and think them bland originally but ended up liking them?  Let me know!
Happy Follow Friday!
Love and The History of Love,
Jennifer

5 thoughts on “Follow Friday! (10)

I'd love to know your thoughts!

