Top Ten Tuesday! (8)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Books to Read in a Day!

For this top ten I am choosing books that can be read in a day because of the plot and pace of the novel.  Now, a couple of these have close to 500 pages, so some people might not be able to read them in one day…it might take one and a half days.  😉  However, all of my choices are books I found to have plots so compelling I just couldn’t stop reading until I was done!  I have linked available reviews to the titles.

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

This is the last book I finished, and I finished it the same day I started it.  Though it is a novel about kids with cancer, it is such a beautiful story with memorable characters that you just cannot stop reading (or crying).

Review to be posted on Saturday, so come back to check it out if you haven’t read it.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

You would have to be living under a rock to not know what this book is by now (as the movie that made millions came out over a week ago).  But this is just one of those fast-paced, well-developed stories that, once you get invested, you just HAVE to finish immediately. A compelling read that makes you tear through the pages quickly.

The Ligntning Thief by Rick Riordan

A Middle Grade series opener that incorporates the Greek myths into our present-day world.  Percy Jackson is an entertaining narrator as he recalls his bizarre experiences and friends and life as a Son of Poseidon.  A quick and fun read!

Locked in Time by Lois Duncan

Lois Duncan writes scary/strange/horror novels for Young Adults, and this was the first one that I ever read by her.  Such a creepy and compelling story.  Fans of the bizarre and scary definitely need to check her out.  Her stories are full of twists and scary situations.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

A YA chick-lit series following the lives and adventures of four best friends through the ups and downs of life and relationships.  You get invested with these girls, and you laugh and cry with them.  A great day-read.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

This is one of those almost 500 page reads that I ended up accidentally finishing in one day.  But the storyline and characters are so compelling and so exciting, you just keep reading one more chapter until you realize you are only 100 pages from the end, and then you just HAVE to finish!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

As a fairy-tale retelling, the story itself is very familiar to readers, which automatically makes it an easy read because of the familiarity.  Through in the fantastic additions (like Cyborgs, Lunar people, and killer viruses) and you have an extremely compelling futuristic fairy-tale that you just don’t want to put down!

 Partials by Dan Wells

Here is the other almost 500 page series opener that I absolutely LOVED!  Between the world building, the character development, and the exciting plot line, these 500 pages will fly by.  This has become one of my Top 5 reads of the Year!  So go get it now!

The Harry Potter Series

Yes, each of these novels can be read in a day (as I have done it…multiple times).  This is just that classic example of the goodness of books and the power of a good and compelling story.

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging (and the rest of the series) by Louise Rennison

A YA series full of British girly humour, a whole lot of boys and snogging, and a group of friends who are so incredibly insane it’s addicting!

There ya have it!  My Top Ten for the week!  Does yours look similar?  Do you have any recommendations!  Leave me a comment and let me know!

Love and pajama days,
Jennifer

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (8)

  1. booktasty says:

    You have so many fabulous books on this list! Im in complete agreement with Sisterhood of the Travelling pants and Divergent which I'm pretty sure I gobbled up in a day or so. 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    Awesome list full of books that I adore! I love that you mentioned Angus, Divergent, Cinder, Hunger Games, and HP. I can't wait to read Partials…I've heard so much about it!Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviewshttp://feministfairytalereviews.blogspot.com/2012/04/top-ten-tuesday-20-books-to-read-in-day.html

  3. Mel - Thedailyprophecy. says:

    Louise Rennison ❤ She is brilliant! I love her books. I've read them so many times, but I keep laughing. Loud. And I don't care, haha.Cinder & The partials & The fault in our stars, all high on my to be read list. I'm reading THG right now and I love it <3http://thedailyprophecy.blogspot.com/2012/04/top-10-tuesday-5.html

  4. Reve @ YA-Books.com says:

    Fab list! I agree with soooo many of your picks! I devoured PJ and the Lightning Thief, Divergent, HG, and the HP books. And Angus! I haven't read Angus since I was 16…methinks a little rereading is in order :).New follower, btw :).

I'd love to know your thoughts!

