Top Ten Tuesday! (9)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving (those covers or titles that don’t fit the books, a book that was totally different than its summary, or those books you thought were going to be fluff that turned out to be more serious etc etc.)

My answers:

1.  Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows
Why?:  The Title/Cover combination
It was just a weird title with an average cover, so I didn’t really expect such a fantastic read.  But boy was it!

2.  City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
Why?:  The Urban Fantasy genre
I was completely surprised by the whole paranormal/urban fantasy thing.  I think I was just expecting something similar to the dystopia trends of the past couple of years.  So realizing exactly what Urban Fantasy meant, well, I was pleasantly surprised at the elements in this novel.  =)

3.  Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale
Why?:  Advertised misconception
This book was advertised and praised as a Jodi Picoult novel for teens, so naturally I jumped on reading this ARC!  But I was extremely disappointed to find a book full of half-baked, whiny teens without any emotional maturity or realism, which is FAR FROM a Jodi Picoult novel.

4.  The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Why?:  Genre doesn’t do it justice
When I read this in high school, I was expecting a historical fiction novel that was relevant to the crises going on overseas.  What I never expected was a beautiful redemption story that has forever stuck with me.

5.  Everything You Need to Survive the Apocalypse by Lucas Krauss
Why?:  Summary leaves out MAJOR themes
I was expecting this well-written, coming of age story with all of the recognition certain literary sites were giving this novel.  Little did I know that this story would center around Evangelical Christianity.  No mention that 80% of this novel takes place in a church setting in the summary.  The direction of this novel completely took me by surprise.

6.  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson
Why?:  Cover
I saw this American cover and I immediately thought that this was an Asian culture story.  Then you read the summary and it takes place in Sweden…what the?  But I loved it!

7.  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Why?:  so much hype, so little substance
This is one of those books that I was so excited about and what was inside the cover didn’t excite me at all.  The plot was only half-developed and rushed through so much of its potential.  I was extremely disappointed.

8.  Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Why?:  Summary/advertised genre
This is docketed as a contemporary YA romance, so I went into it thinking it was going to be a nice, fluffy read.  What I found was two teenagers happenstance meeting and learning to deal with really huge issues in an emotionally appropriate way who have a romantic connection.  I liked the more serious thematic elements.

9.  Love in the Ruins by Walker Percy
Why?:  The summary doesn’t do it justice
I read this for a Self and Self-Destruction in the 20th century literature class a couple of years ago and never in a million years thought that a book starring a slightly crazy narrator would become one of the best novels I have ever read.

10.  Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares
Why?:  Unlike the 4 that came before it
Here I was, ready to see what happened to these 4 teenage girls that I loved so much.  Never expected to stay up FAR into the morning completely BAWLING my eyes out.  So good, but so not expected!

Those are my Top Ten.  What are yours?  Share with me!  =)

Love and key lime cake,
Jennifer

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (9)

  1. Jennifer says:

    I still need to finish the Traveling Pants series…I'm kinda scared to now! I'm excited to read Statistical Probability now since it isn't as frothy as I thought it would be.Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviewshttp://feministfairytalereviews.blogspot.com/2012/04/top-ten-tuesday-21-books-that-were.html

I'd love to know your thoughts!

