Book Review: The Ex Games

Title/Author:  The Ex Games by Jennifer Echols

Genre:  YA, Romance, Chick Lit, Contemporary

Published:  September 8th, 2009 by Simon Pulse

Paperback, 302 pages.

How I Got This Book:  Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?:  Well, I found out that Jennifer Echols was going to be at my local bookstore for a book signing, so I decided to read a couple of her books.  Unfortunately, I had to work during the signing so I could not attend.  But I still read her book anyway.

Book Jacket Blurb:  “Brace yourself for the battle of the exes…

Hayden and Nick used to be a hot item, but their brief affair ended with a highly publicized breakup. Now the two are “just friends,” excluding the occasional flirtation.

When Hayden wins the girls’ division of a local snowboarding competition, Nick is unimpressed, claiming that Hayden wouldn’t have a chance against a guy. Hayden calls Nick’s bluff and challenges him to a head-to-head boarding contest. Their mutual friends quickly take sides, the girls on Hayden’s and the boys on Nick’s, making for an all-out battle of the sexes. This friendly competition is bound to get heated—and they might end up igniting some old flames.”

My Review of this Work:

This novel sounded like a cute Battle of the Sexes kind of book, complete with fun romances that will leave you smiling.

Unfortunately, this book wasn’t really like that.

Instead of a cutesy book, we have a book with some seriously sexist boys, so sexist in fact that I couldn’t take what they said in a joking manner, and I honestly have no idea why they still had girlfriends by the end of this novel.  To me, it was just unnecessary meanness, not loving jest.  It was slightly ridiculous.

So, instead of my normal review, I will tell you the things that made this book a Second Shelf rating in list form.  I think it’ll be easier for me to do it that way.

1.  I liked the characters, don’t get me wrong.  They were mostly flat, but they were likeable individually.  But when they interacted together, their interactions were mostly unbelieveable as friends/couples/potential couples.  This leads to unrealistic dramatic situations that I just didn’t care for too much.

2.  The boys.  Wow, these boys are sexist and mean and I really don’t understand a. why these girls liked them in the first place and b. why they didn’t break up with them after.  Because seriously, no girl or woman should have to deal with that kind of abuse about their nature as women.  This is the 21st century, and while there is still that gender competition, I feel like the generation of teenagers are not THAT SERIOUS about the inferiority of women.  It was JUST RIDICULOUS!

3.  The redeeming boy in this novel was Hayden’s younger brother, who genuinely cared about his sister and wanted to see her succeed.  He was precious and I loved him.

4.  The whole romance between Hayden and Nick was just silly and stupid.  I mean seriously, they couldn’t have a conversation without one of them getting angry at the other.  Like WAY overreacting kind of angry.  And the conversations they had weren’t even that serious and did not deserve the kind of anger that spawned from them.  I do not care about their 7th grade past; there was no reason for that kind of silliness and stupidness.  That really made their romance annoying and unbelieveable for me.  It was just super annoying.

The plot of this novel, the battle of the sexes, was fine and enjoyable even.  But the characters lack of realistic actions and conversations and thoughts just made this book kind of dumb.  Meeeehh.


My Bookshelf Review:

A Second Shelf Book.

This book was okay.  The plot was fine, the characters were fine, but there was just too much drama that didn’t make any sense.  The on again, off again between Hayden and Nick just wasn’t that believeable.  And there is a lot of really cruel comments exchanged between the boys and the girls that I cannot fathom why they would be friends.  I finished this book, and it was fine, but not a book I would pick up again.  But I am still going to read a couple more of Jennifer Echols novels, because there are some that are getting great reviews.  So I am not deterred.

Love and The X Games for real,
Jennifer

One thought on “Book Review: The Ex Games

I'd love to know your thoughts!

