Top Ten Tuesday! (10)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:
Top Ten Tips For New Book Bloggers
I have not been blogging all that long (3.5 months and going strong), so I understand the frustrations and concerns that being a new-blogger can bring because I am still going through them now.  So here is a little advice from one newbie to another.

1.  Set your own pace–I am sure that some of the blogs you follow post at certain frequencies (sometimes every day, sometimes every other day) and that might seem intimidating for you.  A lot of these blogs that post a book review a day have more than one person reviewing, so keep that in mind.  What you need to do is set a book review pace that is comfortable for you.

2.  Don’t feel like you have to post something every day to keep your followers interested–Going right along with #1, this is YOUR blog, so you should be comfortable with the amount that you are posting.  You don’t want to burn out so quickly, so make sure that your review/posting pace is something that you are comfortable with.

3.  Don’t stress!–If you get behind on your posting schedule, please don’t stress.  Bloggers and readers understand that things come up, that reading slumps happen, so don’t stress about getting your posts out exactly when you set them to go out.

4.  The numbers game–As a new blogger myself, I still play the numbers game from time to time.  Especially in the beginning.  But here’s the thing–the followers will go up, I promise.  So don’t get discouraged if you only have 15, 20, 25, 50 followers.  The longer you blog and the more you become involved in the blogging world, the more your followers will grow.

5.  Instead, focus on the quality–I still find myself celebrating over those meaningful comments left onmy reviews from other readers that tell me they loved my review!  Focus on those victories, that you have readers who enjoy what you are posting.  That is a bigger deal to me than having 1000 followers (although that would be nice too lol).

6.  Get involved!–As a new blogger, the best thing I did for myself was join a couple of weekly Memes.  This is a way to get your blog exposure through these blog hops, and the more exposure you get, the more bloggers you meet, and the more that see your blog and want to follow it.  So just jump in and go for it!

7.  Make your blog totally you–The blogs I like best are the ones that are unique and clever and reflect the blogger’s individual tastes and preferences.  So find a way to make your blog your own, whether it be through design, through genre-focus, book rating scale, or through your weekly posting schedule.  Be unique.

8.  Set up your own Book Review Template–Every blogger has their way they love to format and review the books they read.  It is a way to keep a consistant blog, both for you and your readers.  So do a little research with the blogs that you follow and love, and see how they review their books, and make your own book review format that you like and will follow.

9.   Don’t be afraid to ask questions–Bloggers don’t bite!  So if you have a question about the blogging world (like, about blog tours, receiving ARCs, etc) don’t be afraid to send a blogger you like and respect an email.  Most bloggers will be happy to help you in any way they can, because once they were new too.

10.  Remember, above all, it is your blog–Ultimately, you blog for yourself.  It should be something that is fun and enjoyable, not stressful and a burden.  So have fun, and if you are no longer having fun, or reach a blogging/reading slump, don’t be afraid to take a vacation.  Your followers understand that book blogging is a passionate and fun hobby and it should remain fun.  So blog for yourself first.

That is my advice.  You have some other advice?  Feel free to leave it, because like I said, I need some too!

*********EDIT!:  Please, I really need some advice.  I just started a twitter acocunt after reading so many TTTs with advice to do so, but I honestly have no idea how anything works.  Like #s and @s.  and what the bit.v links are, etc.  So any advice/tutorials you could offer would be phenom!  And feel free to follow @alibrarianslib

Love and Coffeeshops,
Jennifer

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (10)

  1. Tea says:

    I totally agree with asking questions and joining memes. I wish I hadn't been so shy this time last year when I first started blogging! The more I've reached out, the more awesome people I've met! Great list! Tara @ Hey, Tara

  2. barefootmeds says:

    Good tips :)I'm not fond of twitter, but that's personal preference I suppose.@ followed by a twitter handle is a way of including/directing/cc'ing someone in your tweet. So, if you tweet me you will include "@Doc_Megz_to_be" in the tweet.Hashtags (#) are a little more complicated, and IMHO a little annoying. #thisisahashtag #thisisn'tahashtag i.e. no punctuation in a hashtag! People can search hashtags, so it can gain you followers or just help people to find lots of tweets on the same topic.The book blogging community uses twitter a lot to keep in touch… especially with giveaways and new posts. It does make it rather difficult when you follow lots of people or people flood your timeline with the same message, but that's the gist of it.Hope that helps 🙂

  3. Patricia says:

    What a very good list. I think it's hard for bloggers not to try and please their visitors above all else. We in the end need that traffic, this interaction and sometimes forget our priorities. :>Patricia // My Post

  4. MissKimberlyStardust says:

    Fantastic tips. I see a lot of ours are very similar. I'm so glad so many bloggers are putting Be Yourself on the top ten tips posts. It's so important for our blogs to be ours and what we the owners want them to be. Thanks for dropping by my post :)Just wanted to let you know I grabbed your button and added it to my "Awesome Blogs" page on my blog and I've followed you :)-Kimberly @ Turning The PagesP.S. I really like your blog header.

  5. Kate says:

    Great tips! Hopefully this will help to create relaxed, well-adjusted bloggers – everything you say is very pleasantly calming :)As for twitter, I'm still working it out myself, but good luck!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

