Book Review: City of Glass

Welcome Readers to Week Three of My Mortal Instruments Month of April reading challenge!  With the count down to City of Lost Souls just 2 weeks away (and Insurgent coming out in just 7 days!!!) I am getting restless!

For those of you who are not aware, the aim of this reading challenge is to connect with other bloggers who have either already read and love the series or are (like me) just now reading this series for the first time. I want to link up reviews and get in discussions about this interesting series!

Reading Calendar

April 10th City of Bones (Book #1)
April 17th City of Ashes (Book #2)
April 24th City of Glass (Book #3)
May 1st City of Fallen Angels (Book #4)

Here is my Book Review of City of Glass, followed by Discussion questions!

Title/Author:  City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
(The Mortal Instruments #3)

Genre:  Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal

Published:  March 24th, 2009 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Hardcover, 541 pages

How I Got This Book:  Checked it out from my library

Why I Picked It Up?:  It’s continuing this series, hopefully answering my questions, and yes, more JACE! =)

Book Jacket Blurb:  To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters—never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City—whatever the cost?”

My Review of the Work:

**Warning:  I have tried to keep spoilers out for City of Glass, but there are spoilers for the first two in this series.  So if you have not read them, go read them now!  Then come back and read the review 😉 **

Once again, Cassie (Can I call you Cassie?) Clare picks up where she left us at the end of City of Ashes–Valentine has been stopped momentarily, Clary has found someone who knows how to help her mother, Simon is going through some interesting changes, and Jace is, well, Jace.  =)

Part three of The Mortal Instruments series takes place in Idris, the land of the Shadowhunters, where the Clave is desperately trying to abate Valentine’s plans to take over the world of Shadowhunters.  After some interesting obstacles, all of our characters end up in the City of Glass, where the epic storyline gets AWESOME!  As I feel like the book jacket blurb gives excellent plot coverage, I will move on to the more interesting elements of this novel.

As this novel takes place in a new setting, naturally we would be introduced to some new characters!  I must say, the members of the Clave kind of pissed me off in a good way lol.  They were polite and superficial, exactly how any type of politician would be.  But when you get them away from the public eye, they are just as scared and powerhungry as the next.  Throwing poor Simon in prison for having special powers…FEAR!  Simon wouldn’t hurt a fly, you silly Clave officials!

But probably the most note-worthy new character is Sebastian, the cousin of the Lightwood’s closest friends.  He is the tall dark and handsome type, complete with mystery and suspense, and he seems to like Clary.  This COMPLETELY throws a wrench into an already complicated romantic triangle thing, but a little more drama makes life interesting, and this story is no different!
To be honest, I really have nothing to complain about with this novel.  It is by far the best of the three, and not just because I finally got answers to most of my questions.  I really felt like this novel really dove into the psychological development of each and every character, adding more substance to the story and allowing me to connect to the characters that I really didn’t connect with in the first two novels.  Plus, there is a lot of action and excitement, which really helped me finish this book extremely fast!  I still stand by my favorite character choice:  Magnus Bane.  He is just awesome!

I apologize for my lack of a substantial review.  I just really do not want to give away anything for my followers who haven’t read this series (as I know there are a few of you!)  I will tell you, this book is TOTALLY WORTH reading through the first two.  And rest assured, this novel gives you the closure you so desperately seek through the first two novels, and I am very interested in seeing where the 4th novel goes from here, since it was originally slated as a trilogy.  But I shall see soon, as I am currently reading it now!

My Bookshelf Rating:

A Top Shelf Book!

This is definitely a great wrap up to what was supposed to be a trilogy!  I loved everything about this novel, from the introduction of new characters to the development of old characters to the action-packed plot to the revelations this novel unveils!  This definitely sealed my LIKE stamp on this series!  Great read!

Discussion Questions:

1.  Maybe this is just a superfluous detail, but it was bothering me through most of the series, especially in this book.  But if steles are so important, how is it that they can continuously lose them?  I mean, what purpose is it to have your own if they are just easily accessible and replenishable?

2.  Would you rather have the super fighting skills (like Jace) or the rune-creating skills (like Clary)?

3.  At some point in this series did you ever find yourself sympathizing/agreeing with Valentine’s mission?

4.  I was extremely happy with the way this novel wrapped up the first three books in the series.  Was there anything else you were hoping would happen or you would find out that wasn’t there?

Love and fuzzy blankets,
Jennifer

I'd love to know your thoughts!

