Sunday Post/Showcase Sunday (1), Sunday Stacks (18)

~*~*~*~*~
The Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and talk about what is coming up for the week on our blog.
~*~*~*~*~

I have been thinking about the idea of a weekly summary post of what has been going on in my blog world, and I really love Kimba’s idea behind her meme.  So with that, my Sunday Post.

This past week on my blog, despite a long weekend away from home putting me behind, I still managed to review three novels, all parts of different series!  I finally finished the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series by Rick Riordan (only with my husband poking me annoyingly until I did so we could talk about it together)!  The Last Olympian was a great ending to a phenomenal middle grade fantasy series.  You can expect to read reviews for his other two MG/YA series in the coming months!   I also reviewed City of Fallen Ashes by Cassandra Clare, book 4 in The Mortal Instruments.  This is actually my favorite book in the series so far!  With City of Lost Souls coming out on Tuesday (eeeeek!), I am super excited and ready for more!  And yesterday I posted my review for the long-awaited sequel to Veronica Roth’s Divergent.  Oh yes, I absolutely LOVED Insurgent!  There was so much more world-building and character development. 

I also answered some interesting bookish questions, courtesy of Top Ten Tuesday and Follow Friday:  The books I would love to see made into movies and What I would tell my favorite author!

This week, expect some reviews on The Hunt, The Unbearable Book Club for Unsinkable Girls, Lola and the Boy Next Door, and an Author Request review of Narrative Loserdom.  It looks to be an exciting week ahead!

As for Bookish News for the week, May 8th is a big day for releases (Including City of Lost Souls!!!), so head over to your local bookstore to check out all the new and pretty books on the shelves!  Also, on Friday one of the local libraries in my city is hosting a book signing for Amy Plum, author of Die for Me and the May 8th release sequel Until I Die.  I am hoping to finish Die for Me this week and attend this signing!

Now, onto my book haul!  This part of my Sunday Post will also link up with Books, Biscuits, and Tea’s Showcase Sunday!  So I can take part in both of these memes created by two bloggers that I love!

~*~*~*~*~

Hello and welcome to Showcase Sunday. Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week.

~*~*~*~*~

 

(I wanted to take pictures but we lent our camera to a friend and I don’t have a fancy Iphone lol)

Recieved via Mail for Review

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda, courtesy of St. Martin’s Press
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage, couresty of Dial Books for Young Readers
The Good Dream by Donna VanLiere, courtesy of St. Martin’s Press
Purchased!

Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth, new hardcovers
(Hubby needed to re-read Divergent, so we bought both!  Good Purchase IMO)
Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs, first in the Temperence Brennan Series, used paperback
Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris, first in the Sookie Stackhouse Series, used paperback
Borrowed From Library!
Die For Me by Amy Plum
Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
The Mysterious Affair At Styles by Agatha Christie (For The Bookclub @ Books, Biscuits, and Tea)
Storybound by Marissa Burt
White Horse by Alex Adams
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Thanks for joining me for The Sunday Post.  Tune in next week for some more Bookish and Bloggish News.  =)
And for a little bookish inspiration,

Every Sunday, Inspire Your Readers with a Picture of Some Beautiful, Dazzling, and Overall Fantastic Bookshelves.

Today’s Stacks look like this:

What a way to use your old books!
This is a library help desk.  See more images from this site.
That’s all from me today.  I hope you have a great rest of your Sunday!
P.S.  Happy Birthday, Mom! =)
Love and Photoshoots,
Jennifer

6 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Showcase Sunday (1), Sunday Stacks (18)

  1. Books And Beyond says:

    You got so many wonderful books to read this week! I JUST finished Divergent myself. I am on Chapter 3 or 4 of Insurgent. I am so excited I did not even want to write my wrap u post! lolz.I need to read the Cassandra Clare series & finish the Sookie Stackhouse ones too. I ADORED The Hunt! one of my fave vamp books of 2012 2011 too. I am new to your blog, new follower. I love the green letters! I really love that shade of green. have a great week and have fun reading ❤STBL

  2. kimba88 says:

    The Hunt was amazing! I recently finished Insurgent and my review will post next week..cannot wait to hear your thought on it! I love Aggie and hope you enjoy it. I am looking forward to your review of Deja Dead. Thanks for linking up to The Sunday Post I am looking forward to sharing new books with you

  3. Sonnie @ Lit Girl: Confessions of a Future Librarian says:

    I'm going to see Amy Plum too!!! I live in her hometown and she's coming here Friday! Thank goodness, because no one EVER comes to Alabama! LOL.I also loved The Percy Jackson series! I think the last book was a perfect ending as well. Will you continue with the spin-off series?Thanks for stopping by my blog! Now following via Twitter and GFC 😀

I'd love to know your thoughts!

