Top Ten Tuesday! (13)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Favorite Quotes from Books!

Oh My Goodness I have been looking forward to one like this!  I have kept a notebook full of book quotes that I loved since I was in high school.  I love literary quotes because they both take me back to the story and encompass the beauty and power of the written word.  So, without further ado…

1.  “For you, a thousand times over.”The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

2.  “And in that moment, I swear–we were infinite.”The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

3.  “But I will think of you everytime I need to be reminded that there is beauty and goodness in the world.”Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

4.  “Your soul is the whole world.”Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse

5.  “If they give you ruled paper, write the other way.”  —The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

6.  “There are only two kinds of people who are really fascinating–people who know absolutely everything, and people who know absolutely nothing.”  —The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

7.  “There is nothing perfect…there is only life.”The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

8.  “I will use a flower petal for paper,
       and write you the sweetes letter,
      You are the Sultan of my Heart,
       the Sultan of my Heart.”
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

9.  “I am young and I possess many buried qualities; I am young and strong and am living a great adventure; I am still in the midst of it and can’t grumble the whole day long.  I have been given a lot, a happy nature, a great deal of Cheerfulness and strength.  Every day I feel that I am developing inwardly that the liberation is drawing nearer and how beautiful nature is, how good the people are about me, how interesting this adventure is.  Why, then, should I be in despair?”The Diary of Anne Frank

10.  “For this moment had been the orgasm of my hatred, and now I am satisfied.”The End of the Affair by Graham Greene

I am telling you, I could list a lot more!  But here are just 10.  =)

Love and the beauty of words,
Jennifer

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (13)

  1. Jennifer says:

    Love the Anne Frank and Perks of Being a Wallflower ones!Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviewshttp://feministfairytalereviews.blogspot.com/2012/05/top-ten-tuesday-23-book-quotes.html

I'd love to know your thoughts!

