My Bout of Books Readathon Progress

Bout of Books site:  You can still sign up!

Well, it is officially 12:01 am for me, so my Bout of Books Readathon has begun!  Here is where I will be keeping track of my progress.  I will notate minutes read, pages read, and when I finish a book.  This is also where I will be posting my challenges and such.  As a reminder, here are my goals:

1.  1567/1200 pages read
2.  1235/1000 minutes read/228 minutes listened = 1463 Total Minutes (24 hours and 23 minutes)
3.  4/4 books finished

Let the readathon begin!

~*~*~
Monday, May 14th

Book: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Time Read:  165 minutes
Pages Read: 284-479 (195 pages)
FINISHED!

Book:  Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Time Read: 105 minutes
Pages Read:  1-122  (122 pages)
Totals For Monday:
Books Finished:  1
Pages Read:  317
Time Read:  270 minutes (4.5 hours)

Monday’s Challenge:  A Bookish Question, courtesy of Sarah Says Read:

“What do you like best about readathons? Do you have any readathon traditions or rituals? If this is your first readathon, what do you like so far? Discuss away!”

I like making reading a priority.  I mean, I read all the time.  But during readathons I make sure to make reading a priority.  I try to get off twitter/reader/goodreads to spend the bulk of my free time reading.  A lot of the time I love going to coffeeshops and sitting and reading outside with a nice iced latte and the sunshine and no computer. But I also love watching people’s progress, cheering people on, and making new friends.

~*~*~

Tuesday, May 15th

Book:  Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Time Read:  185 minutes
Pages Read:  123-351 (228 pages)

AudioBook:  The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
Minutes Listened To: 25 minutes
Tracks Completed:  Disc 1, Tracks 6-14
Totals for Tuesday:
Books Finished:  0
Pages Read:  228
Time Read:  185 minutes (3.1 hours)
Minutes Listened To:  25 minutes

Tuesday’s Challenge, courtesy of Nyx Book Reviews:

Physical book or eBook?:  Physical book.  I don’t have an ereader, and I hate reading on my computer.  This may change when I get a kindle/nook though.
Paperback or Hardcover?:  I’m normally okay with paperback.  But if I can get the hardcover discounted, then I’ll do that.
Reality or Make-believe?:  I love a good story.  So mostly make-believe.
Adult or Young-Adult?:  I read and love both. 
Dog ears or Bookmarks?:  Bookmarks, definitely.
Breaking the spine or Barely open the book?:  I open the book as much as I can to where it won’t leave a lot of spinal creases.  I hate that.
Tea or Coffee?:  COFFEE!!!
Reading in bed or On the couch?:  Bed is comfy.
Series or Standalone?:  I love series, but my favorite books of all time are all standalones.
Original or TV Adaptation?:  I’m not sure what this is asking for, but I would rather read the book anytime. (Although Game of Thrones is really awesome!)
Defy motion sickness or Audiobooks?:  If I am not driving, I read.  Car-reading does not bother me in the slightest!
Author crushes or Who-was-that-guy-again?: I have no idea what this even means…lol
Interview or Guest post?:  Interview

~*~*~

Wednesday, May 16th

Book:  Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Time Read:  110 minutes
Pages Read:  352-498 (146 pages)
FINISHED!
(This completely ripped my heart out!)

Book:  Dead Time by Anne Cassidy
Time Read: 50  minutes
Pages Read:  1- 87 (87 pages)
PUT DOWN! DNF!
**Blah I read like 1/3 of this book and still have no idea what the point of it is.  Bad writing, no definitive plotline = not interested in finishing.  Next!

Book:  The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
Time Listened:  72.5 minutes
Tracks Listened:  Disc 1, Track 14–Disc 2, Track 13

Totals for Wednesday:
Books Finished:  1
Time Read:  232.5 minutes (3.9 hours)
Pages Read:  233 pages
Minutes Listened To:  72.5 minutes
~*~*~
Thursday, May 17th

Book:  Bunheads by Sophie Flack

Time Read: 135 minutes
Pages Read:  1-168  (168 pages)
Book:  The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
Minutes Listened To:  130.5 minutes
Tracks Listened To:  Disc 2, Track 14–Disc 4 Track 7
Totals for Thursday:
Books Finished:  0
Time Read:  265.5 minutes
Pages Read:  168
Minutes Listened to:  130.5 minutes
Friday, May 18th
Book:  Bunheads by Sophie Flack
Time Read:  80 minutes
Pages Read:  169-294  (125 pages)
FINISHED!
Book:  The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
Time Read: 25 minutes
Pages Read:  316-344  (28  pages)
Totals For Friday:
Books Finished:  1
Time Read:  105 minutes
Pages Read:  153 pages
Saturday, May 19th
Book:  The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
Time Read: 60 minutes
Pages Read:  345-427 (82 pages)
FINISHED!
Book:  City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
Time Read:  320 minutes
Pages Read:  1-386 (386 pages)
Totals for Saturday:
Books Finished:  1
Time Read:  380 minutes
Pages Read:  468

Sunday, May 20th

Book:  City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
Time Read: 120 minutes
Pages Read:  387-536   (150 pages)
FINISHED!

Book:  The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
Time Listened:   45 minutes
Tracks Listened To:  Disc 4, Track 8–End of Disc 4
Totals For Sunday:
Books Finished:  1
Time Read:  165 minutes
Pages Read:  150 pages
Time Listened:  45 minutes
9 thoughts on “My Bout of Books Readathon Progress

  1. Ellie Warren says:

    Oh well done! I'm sure Amanda times Bout of Books to start when I'm busy…pretty sure I had book group on the first day of the last one too. Hoping to catch up a bit tonight.

  2. BookSmartie says:

    Wow, lots of Cassandra Clare here. I had City Of Lost Souls on my list, but I probably won't even start it until Bout Of Books is over :/ Anyway, great selection of books! How did you like the Infernal Devices books (I'm planning to read them soon)?

  3. Sarah says:

    You're doing awesome! I hope you enjoyed The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, that's a fantastic trilogy!Happy Last-Day-of-the-Readathon!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

