Top Ten Tuesday! (16)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Books Written in the Past 10 Years that I hope People are still reading in 30 Years!

Here is my list of books published from 2001-2012 that I seriously hope will become required reading for students over the next 50 years!

1.  Life of Pi by Yann Martel (2001)–This novel took me three different attempts before I finally read the whole thing, but I think this is one of those novels that everyone should read.  It pushes readers to think about their philosophical outlook on life and to think at a higher level.  A great novel for late high school/early college kids to read!

2.  The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd (2002)–Before there was The Help, there was The Secret Life of Bees.  Such a beautiful story taking place in the Civil Rights era that focuses on love.  I read this in high school and this still remains one of my favorite novels, and I think this novel needs to be read by every woman (I would say men too, but most of the boys who read this didn’t really like it so much haha).

3.  The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (2003)–This book makes it on almost every TTT list I do, but I cannot express to you the extent of beauty and power this novel has!  Encapturing a theme of redemption, this is just one of those harder-to-read novels that I truly believe everyone needs to read, starting in high school =)

4.  Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan (2005-2009)–I just finished reading this series, and I cannot express enough how totally AWESOME these books are!  Not only are they jam-packed with excitement and adventure, but they also incorporate Greek mythology in a way that makes it easier to remember!  What a great learning tool these books can be for elementary and middle school students!

5.  Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling (1999-2007)–There really isn’t an explanation for Harry Potter.  Just as this series defined my childhood and gave me so much excitement, I want that excitement and wonder to grace the minds of my children and grandchildren!

6.  The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh (2011)–Like The Secret Life of Bees, this novel is a beautiful novel about love.  This novel also greatly focuses on family and adoption and should definitely find its way on reading lists for psychology, sociology, family studies, and english syllabi.

7.  The Reading Promise by Alice Ozma (2011)–A nonfiction memoir packed full of a love of reading.  There is no book that inspires a love of reading like Miss Ozma’s memories of her reading streak with her father.  A great nonficiton requirement for high schoolers.

8.  The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins (2009-2011)–The trilogy that spawned many other fantastic dystopian trilogies.  But this one in particular would make a really great tie-in to a high school history class, specifically looking at the negative impacts of government.  With obvious Roman themes, this would be a fantastic addition to a history curriculum that would keep the kids entertained!

9.  The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series by Ann Brashares (2001-2011)–The perfect series about friendship, about hardships, about family, about loving others, and about loving yourself.  Though probably not school reading list worthy, I hope that teenager girls will continue to read this series for years to come.

10.  The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (2003)–A contemporary romance that literally stands the test of time.  And I hope that this novel will stand the test of time as well.  Such an emotion-provoking love story!

What are your answers?  Leave me a comment and let me know!

Love and J.J. Abrams <3,
Jennifer

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (16)

  1. Just a Lil Lost says:

    Yep, LOVE The Kite Runner and Time Traveler's Wife too! I read those back to back years ago and absolutely loved 'em both. Life of Pi was a thinker.. lol.. it took me a moment when I least expected it for the ending to click!Thanks for stopping by!Michele | TTT

  2. Joy says:

    You picked some awesome books. I love, love, love HP, HG, PJ, and SotTP series. They are spectacular books. I recommend them to teens at my library all the time. The Time Traveller's Wife is a personal favorite of mine that I enjoy each time I read it. Joy @ Book Lagniappe – TTT

I'd love to know your thoughts!

