The Sunday Post/Showcase Sunday! (4)

~*~*~*~*~

The Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and talk about what is coming up for the week on our blog.
~*~*~*~*~

This past week on my blog, I returned from my hiatus and posted 2 reviews at the end of the week.  Friday I posted my review of the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, Clockwork Angel.  And yesterday I reviewed the controversial title The Selection by Kiera Cass.

I also shared My Top Ten Non-bookish blogs I follow.  Click here for some money-saving, yummy baking, and crafty creating inspiration!  My Top Ten Books I still want people to be reading in 30 years can be found here.  And I played matchmaker on this week’s Follow Friday!  Check out who I picked for Jem!

I also recently had my first experience with a flamed negative review.  I was ganged up on by some associates of an author of a book that I did not finish.  It was kind of a surprising start to my week, but I don’t let it affect me too much.  And because of this, I just wanted to re-iterate my stance that while I will not give a rating to a book I did not finish, I will explain why I did not finish it.  And people can take my opinion for what it’s worth and move on.  I know that I am not going to like every book I read, and I know that other people are going to like books that I did not care for.  That is the beauty of writing and reading and publishing.  Each and every lover or literature can find something that he or she absolutely loves.  This was not one of those books for me.  To each his own.

During this past week, I finished 3 books–The Selection by Kiera Cass, Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
 
Up on the blog for next week, I am back from my blogging hiatus and ready to go!  Expect some reviews of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, Bunheads by Sophie Flack, and Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare.

I have also joined Reading Angel’s Page Counting Contest for the month of June.

 I am planning on doing some serious reading this month, so this seems like a fun way to meet some new bloggers and keep myself accountable for reading, and maybe win some prizes!  You can still join up through Thursday night if you want, just click on the link above!

In the world of Bookish News, City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare has apparently been causing some controversy with the content of the novel, regarding sexual assault and Clary.  Cassandra has addressed these concerns and defended her choices in a very personal and respectable way here. **Caution, this article does contain spoilers for CoLS, so procede with caution. **

Here is what I stumbled upon this week:

Release Date:  February 26th, 2013

Would you live through the ultimate test of survival?

The city of Kersh is a safe haven, but the price of safety is high. Everyone has a genetic Alternate—a twin raised by another family—and citizens must prove their worth by eliminating their Alts before their twentieth birthday. Survival means advanced schooling, a good job, marriage—life.

Fifteen-year-old West Grayer has trained as a fighter, preparing for the day when her assignment arrives and she will have one month to hunt down and kill her Alt. But then a tragic misstep shakes West’s confidence. Stricken with grief and guilt, she’s no longer certain that she’s the best version of herself, the version worthy of a future. If she is to have any chance of winning, she must stop running not only from her Alt, but also from love . . . though both have the power to destroy her.

Holy Crap this sounds like a whole bunch of super-scifi awesomeness!  What an interesting concept!

~*~*~

Release Date:  May 22nd, 2012

When Pegasus crashes onto a Manhattan roof during a terrible storm, Emily’s life changes forever. Suddenly allied with a winged horse she’d always thought was mythical, Emily is thrust into the center of a fierce battle between the Roman gods and a terrifying race of multiarmed stone warriors called the Nirads. Emily must team up with a thief named Paelen, the goddess Diana, and a boy named Joel in order to return Pegasus to Olympus and rescue the gods from a certain death.

Along the way, Emily and her companions will fight monsters, run from a government agency that is prepared to dissect Pegasus, and even fly above the Manhattan skyline—all as part of a quest to save Olympus before time runs out.

After reading the Percy Jackson series, I am really pumped to start reading other Greek mythology YA and Juvenile fiction.  And this one just sounds like it will be great!

~*~*~
And now, for this week’s Book Haul!

~*~*~*~*~

Hello and welcome to Showcase Sunday. Hosted by Books, Biscuits, and Tea and inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week.

~*~*~*~*~

For Review via Mail:

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks (Expected Publication August 1st, 2012)

From Library:

Feed by Mira Grant
Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot (audiobook)
Hounded by Kevin Hearne

 

Well, that is all for my Haul and Post. Let me see what you got by leaving me a link to your post in my comments, and I will stop by!
Love and My Orchid plant named Orky,
Jennifer
6 thoughts on “The Sunday Post/Showcase Sunday! (4)

  1. kimba88 says:

    Dueled looks good and I am delighted to see Feed!! I am sorry about your negative experience..chin up! Thanks for being a part of The Sunday PostNow I am off to check out your reviews I missed! Good luck with your reading goals this month!

  2. Tanya Patrice says:

    Feed is on my to be read list too! And geez – I'm so glad you didn't let the negativity ruin your week – sheesh! And I'm excited to see your review of the N.K. Jemisin book. I read it recently and really liked it.TanyaGirlxoxo.com

  3. inlibrisveritas says:

    Dueled and Pegasus look pretty interesting! I think I've seen Pegasus somewhere but I'm not sure, I'll be looking into it though. I'm sorry about the comments, I've never understood why people felt the need to be negative when they have the choice to just click off of a page. I commend you for just moving on. I'm going to check out your review of The Selection, I haven't seen much on it other than a bunch of gif reviews. Thanks for stopping by and happy reading!Michelle

I'd love to know your thoughts!

