Book Review: Clockwork Prince

Title/Author:  Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
(The Infernal Devices #2)

Genre:  Young Adult, Historical Fantasy, Paranormal

Published:  December 1st, 2011 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Hardcover, 498 pages

How I Got This Book:  Checked it out from my library

Why I Picked It Up?:  I just loved the first one so much, I just had to see what happened next!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will; the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.”

My Review of the Work:

**Warning:  This review may contain spoilers of the prequel book Clockwork Angel (see my review here)**

Okay ladies and gents.  You know when you get drawn into a story, and the next thing you know it is over and you have no idea how you got through the book that quickly?  That is exactly what happened with me and this novel.  Holy cow, guys.  This book was just all sorts of emotional for me.

I find that reviewing the second novel in a series is really hard, especially a series like this.  Each and every detail builds on the foundation Clare lays down in Clockwork Angel.  Even more so than her Mortal Instruments series I feel, The Infernal Devices delicately weaves details from every novel together to make a very interesting back history to the urban fantasy series.  Again I have to compliment Clare’s intricate attention to detail in this series.  It adds a greater depth to the story of the Shadowhunters.

So, what do you get in this second book of the trilogy?  You get so much growth of every character.  Honestly, it seems that we gain so much introspective on each and every character that was mentioned or met in the first book.  I don’t know if I have read another second novel that invests so much into developing not only the main characters, but all of the minor characters too.  Actually, out of all of the minor characters, the one that I loved really getting to know better was Sophie.  Not only do we get her personal character growth, we also get growth from other characters through her interactions with them.

But as expected, the bulk of this novel centers around one of the best written triangles in YA literature I have read so far.  There is such tension between Will and Tessa and Tessa and Jem that, as a reader, your heart is literally stretching to the max.  And by the end, be prepared for your heart to be ripped out.

I really cannot say much else about this without giving anything away, so I will just stop here with the vagueness.  I will, instead, JUMP UP AND DOWN AND YELL AND SAY GO GET THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT IS JUST SO GOOD!

That is all.  Really, I do apologize for the vagueness of this review.  But I do hope I at least conveyed my enthusiasm for this series effectively.  😉

Memorable Moments:

It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone.  They could be honest with me, and I with them.  Reading your words, what you wrote, how you were lonely sometimes and afraid, but always brave; the way you saw the world, its colors and textures and sounds, I felt–I felt the way you thought, hoped, felt, dreamed.  I felt I was dreaming and thinking and feeling with you.  I dreamed what you dreamed, wanted what you wanted–then I realized that truly I just wanted you.  The girl behind the scrawled letters.  I loved you from the moment I read them.  I love you still.
–page 468

My Bookshelf Review:

A Fourth Shelf Book!

Holy crap!  This book completely ripped my heart out!  I have to applaud Clare for her ability to pull you in and engulf you completely in this historical fantasy world.  You get more Jem.  You get more Will.  And you must CHOOSE! AHHH

4.5 rating.  Almost a 5.  It’s just sooo good!

Fangirl ended.  =)

Love and Rained Out Softball…NOT! (Sorry, I have been watching this crazy NCAA Softball Championship),
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Clockwork Prince

I'd love to know your thoughts!

