Book Review: Enchanted

Title/Author:  Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Genre:  Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairy-Tales, Retellings, Romance

Published:  May 8th, 2012 by Harcourt Children’s Books

Hardcover, 305 pages

How I Got This Book:  Put it on hold immediately at my library and waited until it was added to the catalogue and put on the hold shelf under my name =)

Why I Picked It Up?:  I knew that I wanted to read this as soon as I stumbled upon it.  What a great story premise!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past – and hers?”

My Review of this Work:

“My name is Sunday Woodcutter, and I am doomed to a happy life.”

What can I say?  I was super excited to get my hands on this book when I stumbled upon it a couple of months ago.  I mean, A) beautiful cover and B) fairy-tales and magic?  Super pumped!  And I am happy to report that, overall, I was extremely pleased with this read!  And I hope you will excuse me with this review, as this is one of those stories that I find really hard to actually WRITE a review.  So this will be a short and sweet review (with a side of fangirl).

I could–and will–tell you that this story is exquisitely beautiful.  This novel re-tells the familiar fairy tales in such a magical way, readers are immediately whisked away into this world of frogs and magic beans and fairy godmothers.  For the most part, I read this novel with ease and excitement (there was about 75 pages where I still loved the book, but I just couldn’t read a lot at one time, if you know what I mean).  And you know what, I loved every minute of it.

There is just so much that Alethea Kontis includes in this novel, it’s like a game to figure out which details belong to which fairy-tale.  Because by-golly, she weaves a lot of fairy tales together to create one intricate and compelling story about family, loyalty, and love.  There is a frog prince and there are magic beans; there is a loving family and there are fairy godmothers.  I think my favorite aspect of storytelling in this novel has to be the Woodcutter family.  Having seven daughters with seven distinct personalities and abilities really made this story interesting and fun!

Probably my favorite characters in this novel were Sunday, our main girl, and Trix, her Fey half-brother.  Their relationship is one that continuously drives the plot, as they are best friends and will do anything for each other, even yell and scold the other!  With Sunday as a story-teller, and Trix as the mischievous presence, this novel becomes a great story because of these two.

Enchanted is, simply put, a perfect example of beautiful storytelling.  Honestly, this is just one of those novels that, if you are interested in it, that you just need to read.  Even if I could write a better, more in-depth review, I do not think I could ever express in full the beauty and magic that this novel holds.  I would encourage you to read it, for it is quite good 😉
My Bookshelf Rating:

A Fourth Shelf Book!

Immediately you are whisked away to a magical world of fairy-tales and magic spells, frogs and magic beans.  Honestly, you can’t help but smile as you are reading this novel and drawing connections to the familiar stories we all grew up with.  I found parts of the middle to be kind of slow, but this novel picks up in a way I was not expecting.  Beautiful characters and just a wonderful story for any lover of fairy-tales.  A great story!

Love and My New Tablet EEEEEE!,
Jennifer

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Enchanted

  1. kimbacaffeinate says:

    Ooh..i am so glad I read your review this. The writing style and tale sound wonderful. I have had this on my list, but a recent review had me second guessing myself..you just placed it solidly on my list!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

