Book Review: Feed

So without further ado, a review of Mira Grant’s Feed.

Title/Author:  Feed by Mira Grant
(Newsflesh Trilogy #1)

Genre:  Adult Fiction, Post-Apocalyptic, Thriller, Horror, Zombies

Published:  May 1, 2012 by Orbit

Paperback, 599 pages

How I Got This Book:  Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?:  A couple of blogs I follow had posted reviews about this series and were excited about the final book being published recently.  As it sounded like something I would enjoy, I jumped on it!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “Alive or dead, the truth won’t rest.  My name is Georgia Mason, and I am begging you.  Rise up while you can.

The year was 2014.  We had cured cancer.  We had beaten the common cold.  But in doing so we had created something new, something terrible that no one could stop.  The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one unstoppable command:  FEED.

NOW, twenty years after the Rising, Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives–the dark conspiracy behind the infected.  The truth will out, even if it kills them.”

My Review of the Work:

I picked up this book expecting an exciting story in a zombie world.  But honestly, I did not expect to be whisked into a political conspiracy/thriller novel with a lot of depth and meaning.  I found myself completely surprised by this novel (the good kind of surprise)!   While the premise of this novel is living in a zombie-filled world, Mira Grant (aka Seanan McGuire) takes this post-zombie apocalypse and meshes it with an thrhilling conspiracy plot that engages the reader from the very first page.

What appealed to me right off the bat was the importance of bloggers in this post-apocalyptic future.  Both of our main characters, Georgia and Shaun, are bloggers, a newsie (news reporter) and a Irwin (an in-the-action reporter) respectively.  Blogging has become an important source of information and entertainment.  What was once television is now streaming videofeed of Shaun poking zombies with a stick in a now un-inhabited zone (and then being chased by a mob of hungry Zombies).  Bloggers are the equivalence of journalists, and Georgia and Shaun are among the elite.  When they are selected as the representative bloggers for the Ryman political campaign, neither of them could have expected this honor to turn into something so unexpectedly dangerous.

While this is a “Zombie” book, I found Feed to be so much more involved than a plot of surviving zombie attacks.  As the setting of this novel is 25 years after the initial Rising, people are living as normal of lives as possible with zombies still being a threat.  I mean, their are still elections and jobs and government.  The fact that a political conspiracy can be present in a zombie world is evidence enough to the incredible world development.

And I know many of you hear “political conspiracy novel” and think “I will not like it because I do not like politics”.  But if you are a fan of Dan Brown, James Rollins, Michael Crichton, or any other of the numerous thriller writers out there, then you will probably enjoy this novel too!  While the plot centers around a political campaign, there is this over-arching conspiracy plot that drives the action and the excitement throughout the entire novel!  Feed is one of those novels that has something that many readers will find appealing enough to pick up and read!

While not going into too much depth, I will mention that the character development in this novel is amazing! And the dynamics of the relationships between all of the characters is just as plot-driving as the thrilling conspiracy!  Georgia and Shaun are probably two of my favorite characters that I have been introduced to this year.  There is just such a chemistry between the two that is so natural and so inviting to the reader to join into their playful banter and joking.  But you also get to know them individually on such a real level, for better or worse.

I must admit, I was reserving judgment on this book when I finished it.  The ending is…well, you will just have to read it.  But I will say that, after finishing book two, I am completely in love with this series and cannot wait to get my hands on the third book soon!  So I encourage you all who want to start a great adult series, pick this one up!  You will not regret it!
My Bookshelf Rating:

A Fourth Shelf Book!

I found this book to be intensely interesting!  From the intricate world-building to the depth of the characters to the political conspiracy to ZOMBIES, I enjoyed this novel from start to finish!  Such a well-written story!  I will say, the ending caught me by such surprise!  But I have picked up Deadline and will let you know what I think about the sequel soon!  But I definitely recommend this book to those readers who love the genres above!

Love and Lifesaver Gummies,
Jennifer

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Feed

  1. 365_books_a_year says:

    I just finished the third book Blackout. I don't think book 2 or 3 were as good as the first. I wonder if some of that is just perception. I notice that I find the first novel in these types of world building trilogies the best- I think because it's fresh and novel in book 1. There's just something special about being introduced to a new world in the first book. All in all, this was my favorite zombie book since World War Z.

  2. Jennifer @ A Librarians Library says:

    I can understand that. I won't be able to start Blackout for at least another week (someone else has it checked out =( ) but I think that Feed definitely had more overall thrill than Deadline (though Deadline had more exciting action). But I really do like this series. =)

  3. kimbacaffeinate says:

    This is one of my favorite trilogies and i am so glad you are reading it…Deadline is better..way better!!! Did you know Mira is actually Seanan McGuire author of the amazing fantasy series Rosemary and Rue? It amazing me how she can write in two different genres with such different voices.

  4. Bea says:

    I'm not a zombie fan,occasionally I enjoy a political thriller so I wasn't sure I'd like this book but I love Seanan McGuire so I picked up this book and loved it. I've read the whole series and love it. It's awesome! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

