Top Ten Tuesday! (20)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings In Books 

I am all about world building in books!  A well-built world just adds so much depth to a story!  Here are 10 of my favorite worlds!  So without further ado, and in no particular order, here is my list!

1.  Middle Earth in J.R.R. Tolkien’s novels:  This is the greatest world ever built in literature in my opinion.  Tolkien created a whole fantastical world, complete with extensive history and multiple languages.  The Lord of the Rings is a successful high fantasy (and award-winning movie series) because of how beautiful and vivid Tolkien created his Middle Earth world.

2.  The Wizarding World in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series:  Rowling creates a wonderfully hidden world of wizarding wonders!  I don’t think there is anything I need to say to verify why this one is on my list.  =)

3.  The world of Partials by Dan Wells:  Dan Wells creates a post-apocalyptic dystopian world that is so well-developed, from the scientific elements to the government to the daily life.  It’s a fantastic example of a well-developed world!

4.  The world of Shadowhunters in Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices Books:  This is really the only experience I have with paranormal fantasy worlds, but I must say, the intricacy that Clare has put into these two series connecting together is so brilliant!

5.  The land of Story in Marissa Burt’s Storybound series:  I love me some juvenile fantasy, and this series has created a magical land where stories literally come alive.  It is just so fantastical and wonderful!

6.  The dark mythological world of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone:  Holy crap, when I read this book I was in awe of the dark mythology behind the hidden worlds of DoSaB.  And I loved how this novel takes place from the “evil” side of things.  Makes for a very interesting plot development!

7.  The dystopian world of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games Trilogy:  I couldn’t really make this list without mentioning THG.  This is the dystopian world that I compare every dystopian world to.  I love the history behind panem and the districts and what the hunger games mean.  Just great.

8.  The Post-Zombie Apocalyptic World in Mira Grant’s Newsflesh Trilogy:

9.  The world of souls in Jodi Meadow’s Newsouls Trilogy:   Such a unique world that is completed by a beautiful mythology.  The world of souls has an extenstive history and a beauty to the set up that is definitely worth mentioning.

10.  The modern Greek mythological world in Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series:  Taking an established mythology and placing it in modern day America is so unique and exciting!  And the way that Rick does this is so effective in making mythology fun and easy to learn.

So that’s my top ten.  Do you agree?  Disagree?  Leave a comment and let me know!

Love and AT&T U-Verse!,
Jennifer

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (20)

  1. Jenny says:

    Middle Earth, Harry Potter, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone are totally on my list. Good choices! I approve, though I still need to read some of these.

  2. Scarlett says:

    really really great list! I hadn't really paid attention to Storybound until you just mentioned it and I read the blurb, totally on the TBR now! Partials is waiting for me at the library and there are so many other great books listed here. Thanks for sharing!Here's a link to mine!

  3. Sarah Reads Too Much says:

    Fabulous list… I just picked up the first two books of Cassandra Clare's different series a week ago at a signing… I am really looking forward to diving into that series (as I'm not well versed in paranormal fantasy either)

  4. Jennifer says:

    Such great settings! Definitely agree with Middle Earth, HP, Panem, etc. I haven't read some of these, but I plan to someday!Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviewshttp://feministfairytalereviews.blogspot.com/2012/07/top-ten-tuesday-30-vivid-worlds-and.html

  5. Alisa says:

    Not participating in this meme, though I do agree with most of your picks, lol. I'm just dropping by to let you know that you've been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award from here.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

