Book Review: I’ve Got Your Number

Title/Author:  I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

Genre:  Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance, Humor

Published:  November 7th, 2011 by Random House

Hardcover, 433 pages

How I Got This Book:  Checked It Our From My Library

Why I Picked It Up?:  It was a group read for one of my Goodreads groups, and I really just wanted something light and fluffy, so I picked it up!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “I’ve lost it. The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive!!

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry the ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her ‘happy ever after’ begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring but in the panic that followed, she has now lost her phone. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

Well, perfect except the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents… she soon realises that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.”

My Review of This Work:

From beginning to end, I’ve Got Your Number is a cutesy, feel-good chicklit novel that makes you cackle out loud (at least it made me giggle)!  As far as chick-lit novels go, Sophie Kinsella’s newest novel has everything you would want in a great chick-lit, rom-com story!

First, great characters!  Poppy is a lively protagonist that adds a humorous aspect to this novel!  She really is a great Romantic Comedy lead-female, as she is witty and impulsive and has a good heart.  She just needed a phone to help her get her final wedding plans in order after losing her engagement ring!  And this cell phone was just sitting in a trash can!  And then you have Sam, who is an established businessman, but he definitely has a sense of humor (obviously, if he lets Poppy get away with taking a company cellphone).  The two of them share such a witty banter in their correspondence, adding such a joy to this novel.  As far as chick-lit characters, these two are some of the best I have read in a while!

Second, a funny story!  I am sure you read the blurb above, and that makes the story sound slightly ridiculous.  And believe me, it is every bit as ridiculous as it sounds.  But at the same time, it is such an addictingly humorous story that is just a delight to read!  A woman picking up a cell phone and helping its owner with his business and personal lives is just a fun situation and makes for an entertaining read!

Thirdly, a Rom-Com with a conspiracy plot!  Not only is this just a light ‘n fluffy romance story, but there is also an element of business conspiracy at Sam’s company!  And if you haven’t been able to tell by some of the previous books I have reviewed, I love me a good conspiracy plot!  It definitely adds a different dynamic to your typical romantic comedy.

Overall, I’ve Got Your Number is an extremely entertaining read that I thoroughly enjoyed!  If you are looking for an easy, fun read, then I would definitely recommend this to you!

My Bookshelf Rating:

A Fourth Shelf Book!

This book is the perfect combination of fluffy romance and entertaining, witty scenarios.  While this story, as a contemporary romance, is extremely predictable, it does not take away from the likeability factor!  This novel is fun and funny!  I laughed out loud through most of it!  Definitely worth a read!

This review has been brought to you as part of my:

Love and Denny Duckett,
Jennifer

4 thoughts on “Book Review: I’ve Got Your Number

  1. Melissa says:

    This is a great review! I honestly think I have never read anything by Sophie Kinsella. I keep meaning to, but never get around to it. This one looks like a really good story though.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

