Audio Review: The Princess Diaries 1-3

Titles/Author:  The Princess Diaries, Princess in the Spotlight, and Princess in Love by Meg Cabot
(The Princess Diaries #1-3)

Genre:  Young Adult, Audiobooks, Chicklit

Published:  2000-2001

Audiobooks, 354 minutes, 296 minutes, and 304 minutes respectively

How I Got These Books:  Checked them out from my library

Why I Picked Them Up?:  I really wanted to find a series to start on audiobook that was light and funny, and a couple of bloggers recommended this series.  I had never read Meg Cabot, so I though I’d give them a listen!

Book Jacket Blurb:  (For The Princess Diaries #1)

She’s just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…
News Flash: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that’s why a limo meets her at the airport!)
Downer: Dad can’t have any more kids. (So no heir to the throne.)
Shock of the Century: Like it or not, Mia Thermopolis is prime princess material.
Mia must take princess lessons from her dreaded grandmére, the dowager princess of Genovia, who thinks Mia has a thing or two to learn before she steps up to the throne.
Well, her father can lecture her until he’s royal-blue in the face about her princessly duty—no way is she moving to Genovia and leaving Manhattan behind. But what’s a girl to do when her name is Princess Amelia Mignonette Grimaldi Thermopolis Renaldo?

My Review of these Books:

I must admit, I did not read these books with everyone else when they came out in my middle school days.  So when I started listening to audiobooks in my car, I decided to add this series to my list of listens.  Then I picked up the first at the library, and I was super excited to see that Anne Hathaway narrates!  How cool is that!

Immediately I am drawn in to the story, though I must attribute most of the instant interest to Anne Hathaway.  She just captures the voice of Mia Thermopolis perfectly.  Quirky, exaggerated, enthusiastic, and dramatic, Mia Thermopolis of the books is brought to life through the voice of Anne Hathaway.  To me, there is no one better for this part!

It is really interesting how short these books are in terms of story development.  There is not much that happens in plot development in each book, really.  But I do understand why Meg Cabot wrote this series the way she did.  Each book centers around one problem.  Book One obviously centers around Mia finding out that she is a real life Princess and the problems that big secret cause her.  In Book Two we find Mia having to deal with National Press and Interviews, and all that publicity is really hard for her to deal with.  Book Three is all about her crush on Michael Moskovich, ending similarly to the movie.  As far as the stories themselves, while they are simplistic in nature, they are still entertaining (at least from the listening standpoint).  I found myself giggling at the silly moments with Mia and her family and friends.

In short (really short review, sorry!), I found these books to be entertaining and fun!  They are definitely the light-hearted, easy reads I like to listen to, and they were a source of entertainment and laughs on my commute to and from work.  I would definitely recommend the audiobooks to those of you looking for something light and fun to listen to!

My Bookshelf Ratings:

Middle Shelf Books!

Meg Cabot’s series is super cute and super girly in just the right combinations!  And Anne Hathaway reading these audiobooks makes them so much more enjoyable!  While it takes these three books to essentially get to the end of The Princess Diaries movie, the life of Mia Thermopolis is quirky and funny and fun to listen to!  Solid listens!

Love and The Princess Diaries, which I had to rewatch after listening to these,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Audio Review: The Princess Diaries 1-3

I'd love to know your thoughts!

