Bout of Books 5.0 Goals

Guess what time it is?!

BOUT OF BOOKS TIME!  =)

I must admit, I really loved participating in BoB 4.0 back in May.  Not only did it keep me focused on reading, but I also met a bunch of new bloggers from blog hoppin’ and twitter chatting!
What is Bout of Books Readathon, you ask?  The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 13th and runs through Sunday, August 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books 5.0 team
But now it is time for Bout of Books 5.0, and this time will be much different for me than the last.  For one thing, over these 7 days I will be working 6 days (44 hours), so that has made me change my game plan for goal-making this time around.  But never fear, I have solved my problem!
My goals for this readathon are simple:  I want to read a book a day.  I want to feel like I am accomplishing something, and I feel like setting a goal of 7 books during such a busy work week is definitely accomplishing something.  But my secret to meeting this goal?  I am going to read shorter books!  I have been reading quite a few 450 pages + books recently, so I am going to read books this week that are mostly in the 150-250 page range, or else picking books written in verse or incorporating illustration.  That way, I can feasibly meet my goal 😉
With all that said, Here are my Bout of Books Goals:
Number of Books:  7
(1200 pages + )
Number of AudioBooks:  1
Number of Blogs Visited/Day:  5-10
Participate in 1 Twitter Chat
Complete 5 Challenges
My Book Pile For The Week:

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor by Robert Kirkman  (308 pages)

Genesis by Bernard Beckett  (150 pages)
Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg  (231 pages)

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan  (185 pages)

Crank by Ellen Hopkins  (537 pages)
Coraline by Neil Gaiman  (162 pages)

A Wind in the Door by Madeleine L’Engle (211 pages)

One for the Money by Janet Evanovich (287 pages)
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (534 pages)
Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard (387 pages)
Don’t Judge A Girl By Her Cover by Ally Carter (Audiobooks, 420 minutes)
~*~*~*~
So there are my goals.  Tune in this week to see how I am coming along.  If you want to participate in this awesome readathon, click on the link in the blurb above and sign up!  If you are participating in Bout of Books, leave me a link to yourk goals/progress so I can come visit and cheer you on!
And feel free to follow me on Twitter to chat!  @alibrarianslib
Love and A Work-Free Saturday (FINALLY!),
Jennifer
9 thoughts on “Bout of Books 5.0 Goals

  1. Marie Ifmarybooks says:

    Hey i'm doing this read a thon too :). And i'm a new follower ! I haven't read any of these books but I hope that you'll enjoy reading them. I discovered Something strange and deadly yesterday on goodreads and I really want to read it now ! Good luck and have fun !

  2. Rebecca says:

    I am also participating- I have read most of the Stephanie Plum books and I think they would be great for a read-a-thon. Coraline is really good too. I have Hugo Cabret on my TBR list. I like your goal of reading shorter books and books with pictures/verse (I also went with some smaller books this time). I hope you enjoy your books and have a great week!

  3. Hollie says:

    Your list looks great! I'm planning on checking out One For the Money when I next go to the library. I really want to read Prom and Prejudice, I've heard that it's a great read. Good luck with reaching your goals! 🙂

  4. creativedeeds says:

    Great list of books. I read Something Strange and Deadly and loved it. Good luck with your goals and work. I'm working all week too, but who needs sleep, right? LOL! Be sure to make some time for fun 😉

  5. Sarah E. says:

    You have a lot of good looking books up there! I love One For the Money. I just recently read it (and the 2nd) and they are such quick reads. I tried to pick shorter books this time around too 🙂

I'd love to know your thoughts!

