Book review: Until I Die

Title/Author:  Until I Die by Amy Plum
(Revenants #2)

Genre:  Young Adult, Paranormal Fantasy, Romance

Published:  May 8th, 2012 by HarperTeen

Hardcover, 357 pages

How I Got This Book:  As [mostly] always, from my library.

Why I Picked It Up?:  Despite the fact that I gave the first book in this series a Two, I was still intrigued enough by the story to pick up the second…so I did!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “I wish there was only today, just right now, and no forever.

It seems fitting that I fell in love in Paris, the most beautiful city in the world. And if I pretend, I can almost believe that my life is normal and everyone I care about is safe.

But as long as I’m with Vincent, “normal” doesn’t exist. Gorgeous, charming, and witty, he’s everything you could ask for in a boyfriend—but his destiny is so much more.

Even more terrifying than his destiny are his dangerous enemies, enemies who will kill for immortality. How are Vincent and I supposed to be together forever if we’re always in danger?

I know I’ll do whatever it takes—even if it means lying to the people I love—to fight against a fate that is trying to tear us apart.”

My Review of This Work:

**Though I will keep this review spoiler free, there will probably be some spoilers for Die for Me, the first book in the series.  Click here to read my review of that book**

I must start out this review with an apology (I know, never a good sign lol).  I think I finished this book about 2 months ago, but due to crazy June/July schedules and Adult Fiction July, this review kept getting put off.  I almost decided not to write it at all but felt that I needed to say something about this book, especially after my less-than-thrilled opinion of Die For Me.  So I am writing a review (albeit short and to the point) of the second book in the Revenants series, Until I Die.

Vincent has promised Kate that they could be together–he will just go against all instinct and ignore his natural impulse to save lives so that they can grow old together.  This is all fine and dandy until Kate and Vincent realize just how much of a sacrifice that is.  And of course, the Revenant crew has to deal with the repercussions of their Numa fight.

Here’s the deal about this series:  I feel like it could have been pretty okay if the plot wasn’t so freakin’ convenient and coincidental!  This might be one of my biggest pet peeves in novel writing.  Instead of trying to explain the reasons why, details about the plot are just supposed to be accepted by the reader, no questions asked.  This would be fine if the details and plot developments made sense! But alas, many times they do not.  Many times, someone just CONVENIENTLY has the item they are looking for, or just magically knows where to go next with no investigation necessary.

The overall story and Revenant mythology is still intriguing and interesting, but the writing style deters from that goodness in my opinion.  There are a lot of descriptors that are just a little too awkward and strange for my taste.  But Holy Crap THE ENDING!!  As much as I really do not care for the writing, the ending forces me to pick up the third book in this trilogy, because Amy Plum knows how to write a second book cliffhanger.

All in all, I really wanted to like this series more after finishing this book, but overall my opinion hasn’t changed from my first review.  This series is okay but not super fantastic.  I am just not wowed.  That being said, I think there is still some likeability (as I still keep reading anyway), and I think that you should decide for yourself about this series.  😉

My Bookshelf Review:

A Second Shelf Book.

I wanted to like this book more, I really did.  But there is just something preventing it from being a likeable book in my eyes.  The overall story is still really intriguing, but there are aspects of the writing style and character development that just don’t sit well with me.  I really like the development of the Revenant mythology in this book, and the major cliff hanger at the end almost forces me to have to read the last book in spite of what I don’t like, so I guess, in that sense, Amy Plum is doing something right!  2.5 stars.

Love and Banana Boat Sunscreen,
Jennifer

3 thoughts on “Book review: Until I Die

  1. kimbacaffeinate says:

    I grabbed book one for free on a special , but haven't read it and I like you need, want detail..unless like you said the author makes it believable without it..bummer on this, kudos for giving book two a chance.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

