AudioReview: I’d Tell You I Love You, but Then I’d Have to Kill You

Title/Author:  I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter
(Gallagher Girls #1)

Genre:  Young Adult, Espionage, Mystery, Girl School

Published:  April 25th, 2006 by Hyperion

Audiobook, 420 minutes

How I Got This Book:  Checked it up from the library

Why I Picked It Up?:  I needed a new series to listen to when I drive to and from work, and this series was recommended by BookBrats.  So I picked it up to take a listen!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school-that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it’s really a school for spies. Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real “pavement artist”-but can she maneuver a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her?

Cammie Morgan may be an elite spy-in-training, but in her sophomore year, she’s on her most dangerous mission-falling in love.”

My Review of This Work:

I needed a break from listening to The Princess Diaries series, so I picked up this first audiobook in the Gallagher Girls series.  This series came highly recommended by the BookBrats, and when I read the synopsis I decided it would probably be a good candidate for a new series to listen to on audio.  Thus, I gave it a listen.  And I must say, I am so glad I did.

I’d Tell You I Love You but Then I’d Have to Kill You begins the story of the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a.k.a. A school that trains future spies.  How cool of a concept is that!

Cammie Morgan comes from a family tradition of spies, and now she is studying her way through her own spy schooling.  As a fifteen year old sophomore, she is fluent in 14 languages, can compute complicated math problems in her head, and can tail anyone without being seen.  Cammie the Chameleon is one of the best and brightest future spies.  Together with her two best friends, Becks and Liz, the complete a surveillance team that is unstoppable!  But a few kinks in their predictable path to spy-hood create some new adventures in their midst.  A new girl shows up at school and ends up sharing a room with them.  And Cammie meets a boy that finally sees her…but she cannot tell him who she really is.

For a more light-hearted, fun read, I found this series to really develop the characters.  I love each and every character in this novel!  You have Cammie, who is truly an exceptional teenage girl who still struggles with the same issues that any teenage girl would:  learning to deal with peers who seem to be way different, figuring out how to have a relationship with a boy, and dealing with parental relationships.  Despite the training to be a secret spy thing, I feel like the character development of our main gal is extremely realistic and entertaining.

I found this first book in the series to be an inviting read into a great new series for me to listen to!  Not only is the story entertaining, I really have fallen in love with the whole Gallagher School world.  It is a great easy-listen, easy read series with loveable characters in a great spy world!

My Bookshelf Rating:

A Middle Shelf Book!

This series is a great easy-read (and easy listen!) series, complete with great character development and a good story to tell!  I really enjoyed the espionage/spy aspects of this story.  It really turns a typical high school story into an exciting adventure that you won’t want to stop reading or listening to!  A great listen with a fantastic narrator.  Definitely recommend this to any lover of YA!

Love and Chip Clips,
Jennifer

3 thoughts on “AudioReview: I’d Tell You I Love You, but Then I’d Have to Kill You

I'd love to know your thoughts!

