Book Review: Deadline

Title/Author:  Deadline by Mira Grant
(Newsflesh Trilogy #2)

Genre:  Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Horror, Thriller, Political Conspiracy, Zombies

Published:  June 1st, 2011 by Orbit

Paperback, 581 pages

How I Got This Book:  Checked it out from my library

Why I Picked It Up?:  I really enjoyed book one, and the ending left me completely empty and I really needed to read book two!!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “Shaun Mason is a man without a mission. Not even running the news organization he built with his sister has the same urgency as it used to. Playing with dead things just doesn’t seem as fun when you’ve lost as much as he has.

But when a CDC researcher fakes her own death and appears on his doorstep with a ravenous pack of zombies in tow, Shaun has a newfound interest in life. Because she brings news-he may have put down the monster who attacked them, but the conspiracy is far from dead.

Now, Shaun hits the road to find what truth can be found at the end of a shotgun.”

My Review of this Work:

***Warning!  This Review will contain SPOILERS of Book 1 in this Trilogy, Feed.  If you are interested, you can see my review about that book here.***

You have been warned!  If you want a quick review of Deadline with no spoilers, scroll down and read my Bookshelf Rating summary.  =)

After the shocking ending to Feed literally leaving my heart torn out and on the floor, I was really hesitant to continue this series.  Mostly because I was weary about how Mira Grant was going to justify her ending and continue with such an entrancing storyline.  But my fears were subdued as I started book two, mostly because I began to realize that Grant had a few more tricks up her sleeve with this series!

Shaun is suffering greatly after the death of his sister and best friend, Georgia.  In the past year, he has stepped down from his post as the head of the Irwins for his blogging website, After the End Times, which has gained fame after they unveiled the political conspiracy last year.  Instead, Shaun spends most of his time talking to Georgia, who now lives in his head.  Until a scientist shows up at his front door.  Then Shaun, and the rest of the staff, is once again thrust into a conspiracy cover-up that ties in to Georgia’s death.

So here is the thing with this series that I absolutely LOVE:  zombies have become a way of life.  The world in which these bloggers live has adapted to the presence of the Risen and has continued with life as normal as possible.  Which is why this series focuses on political and global conspiracies surrounding the zombies instead of just zombie attacks.  Sure, there is plenty of excitement in this novel regarding zombie attacks–it wouldn’t be a zombie novel without them!  But there is so much more to the story than just surviving the zombies!  There is a whole political world out there that is full of secrets–secrets that Shaun and his team continue to discover, secrets that constantly put Shaun in danger.

An interesting dynamic is created with the relationship between Shaun and the voice of Georgia.  While hearing voices typically means that the person is crazy, hearing Georgia is the only thing keeping Shaun sane (oh the irony).  The relationship between the two is quite similar to the relationship we saw between them in book one.  Georgia is the rational one that keeps Shaun in check; she is the one that analyzes details and sees what others miss.  With George now living in Shaun’s head, he gains insight to this conspiracy that he would have missed had he not been focused on Georgia.  I know, this dynamic seems strange when talked about, but when you read it you will understand just how much this relationship works for the productivity and development of the characters involved.

And just when you think you have mostly figured out where this story is going, BOOM!  Another in your face plot twist leaves you yearning for book three!  So I suggest having it on hand when you are close to finishing this one!

My Bookshelf Rating:

A Fourth Shelf Review!

I came into this novel with reservations, especially after the ending to Feed being [more than] slightly gut-wrenching.  But my fears were immediately calmed as I dove into this story focusing on Shaun and the rest of the team.  Mira Grant has once again impressed me beyond words with her world building and character development.  This book is an emotional and psychological ride with Shaun as the new narrator, trying to solve the gigantic mystery behind his sister’s death.  Cannot recommend this series enough!

Love and Pizza Pie,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Deadline

  1. 365_books_a_year says:

    I'm glad you're enjoying this series. I loved it. There was a moment in the final book of the series that so grossed me out that I had to stop for a while. (It wasn't zombie related, though) I'm still looking for the next great zombie series.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

