Mini Reviews #1

Hey my lovely readers.  I have found with my schedule that it is really hard for me to review each and every book I read or listen to.  So, I have decided, rather than try to write longer reviews of books I finished over a month ago, I will just do a miniature review/recommendation set every once and a while to include those books I have completed but will not fully review.

So, here is my first set of mini-reviews!

Birdman by Mo Hayder (Jack Caffery #1)
370 pages

“In his first case as lead investigator with London’s crack murder squad, Detective Inspector Jack Caffery is called on to investigate the murder of a young woman whose body has been discovered near the Millennium Dome in Greenwich, south-east London. Brutalized, mutilated beyond recognition, the victim is soon joined by four others discovered in the same area—all female and all ritualistically murdered. And when the post-mortem examination reveals a gruesome signature connecting the victims, Caffery realizes exactly what he’s dealing with—a dangerous serial killer.”

My Snippet Review:  As far as crime novels go, this crime story was quite intense and definitely not for the faint of heart.  A lot of gruesome description (combine CSI with Bones in book form) of heneous crimes against women.  Very sick and twisted criminal that made for an interesting psychological read.  While I liked the story line and the pace of the story, the writing style itself cramped my enjoyment of the novel overall.  But I will probably read the next in the series.

Warning:  Definitely not for the YA crowd.

Rating:  Second Shelf Book (2 out of 5)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter (Gallagher Girls #2)
420 minutes (256 pages)

Cammie Morgan is back, and it’s clear that her life hasn’t calmed down since the events of I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You. At first, giddy anticipation is in the air. Gallagher Academy, Cammie’s elite spy school, is hosting a visit from a covert training center for boys. Soon after the boys’ arrival, though, everything goes dangerously awry when a series of security breaches are discovered at the academy. Worse yet, teenage agent-in-training Cammie is being blamed for the penetration. With the school’s top-secret status at risk, the Gallagher Girls have to work quickly to save their beloved school.”

My Snippet Review:  I liked the first book in this series a lot, but I LOVED the second even more!  We are introduced to new characters and more espionage mysteries to solve.  And I am such a Zach fan! He makes me giggle like a little girl!  I really appreciate the series development through character growth.  Definitely another fantastic audio performance and a great easy read/listen for a rainy day.  A definite recommended series!

Rating:  Middle Shelf Book (3.5 out of 5) (Middle and High School)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Paper Towns by John Green
305 pages

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues – and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer Q gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew.”

My Snippet Review:  After my intro to John Green with The Fault in Our Stars, I was really excited to read more of his work!  I found myself really liking the characters in this novel.  The mystery behind Margo was really intriguing, and Q is a protagonist you definitely grow to love.  I did find this story to lack the immediate love I felt for The Fault in Our Stars, but Paper Towns was a solid read.

Rating:  Middle Shelf Book (3 out of 5) (Middle and High School)

3 thoughts on “Mini Reviews #1

  1. Jenn Renee says:

    Gallagher Girls just seemed to get better and better. I have read all 5 and they really do keep topping the last. Her other series, Heist Society rocks too!I loved Paper Towns, it's one of my favorite John Green book. Thanks for the snippits.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

