Book Review: Blackout

Title/Author:  Blackout by Mira Grant
(Newsflesh Trilogy #3)

Genre:  Adult Fiction, Post-Apocalyptic, Zombies, Horror, Thriller

Published:  May 22nd, 2012 by Orbit

Paperback, 659 pages

How I Got This Book:  Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?:  Cliffhanger at the end of Book Two was EPICally compelling!  I had to pick up book three!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “The conspiracy that rules post-zombie America is alive and well.  The same can’t be said of the bloggers who dared to tell the truth as they found it.

Now, with too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, Shaun Mason and his team must face mad scientists, zombie bears, and rogue government agencies–and if there’s one thing they know is true in post-zombie America, it’s this:

Things can always get worse.”

My Review of this Work:

**Warning!  Though there will not be any spoilers about this book in this review, it is inevitable there will be series spoilers from the previous two books.  So proceed with caution.

And here are some links so you can view my reviews for Feed and Deadline. **

Blackout is the rivoting conclusion to one of the most unique trilogies I have ever read.  Part zombie-apocalypse, part political thriller, The Newsflesh Trilogy is a series that continuously shocks you.

I will first start out by saying…This series is pretty fantastic!  It is a great combination of sci-fi, zombies, political thriller, and global conspiracies.  And this book has a lot of all of it!  As an overall series, this is ranked up there as one of my favorites!  The character development from beginning to end is consitent, allowing readers to really get to know our main crew of bloggers and scientists.  It is truly action-packed and invigorating.  That being said, Blackout as a conclusion to this series had some highlights for me that were both positive and negative.

On the positive side, narrative balance is restored in the trilogy in this third book!  With the first book being narrated by Georgia and the second by Shaun, the blackout narration alternates between the two.  Storywise it makes complete sense, as each of these characters is on his/her own personal journey to the end.  But it also allows us to continue gaining first-hand perspective from each of them!  This was such a great choice for the final book and really ties the series together as a whole.

On the negative side, I felt the ending of this novel, and consequently the ending of this series, was really abrupt and kind of left me with a slightly empty feeling.  To me, the last 100 pages or so of this really intense story kind of fell flat, rushing through some parts that I felt needed more explanation and attention.   I just wasn’t as satisfied as I wished I would have been.  But this did not stop me from enjoying the novel and the series, I just was left with a feeling of wanting more in a bad way.

Overall, Blackout was a solid conclusion to a fantastic post-apocalyptic series.  I recommend this series to both lovers of political thrillers and lover of zombie novels.  It is definitely a series to add to your must read list.

My Bookshelf Rating: 

A Fourth Shelf Book!

The rivoting conclusion to a very unique zombie trilogy!  The balance is restored after the first two novels with alternating narration between Shaun and Georgia. It is full of action, but it ends quite suddenly.  The ending leaves you satisfied, but not completely.  I still want more! But I also know that it is enough.

Love and NCIS,
Jennifer

One thought on “Book Review: Blackout

I'd love to know your thoughts!

