The Classics Club: My Pledge

From the beginning of time (Okay, well, since probably 6th grade), my reading, literacy, and english teachers have been asking forcing me to read these “classic” and “essential” books.  All on their own schedule, and all when they felt I was ready to read them.  Well, I hate to tell you, but I wasn’t ready to read Great Expectations as a freshman in high school. 

Don’t get me wrong, I read SOME of the books I was assigned for my classes in high school and in college.  But I will be honest, I didn’t finish most of them.  In fact, I think I can count on my fingers the number of “classic” books I actually read start to finish in high school.  I can tell you, the percentage of books assigned that I actually read was probably less than 25%.  And this is why:  I resented reading on someone else’s schedule!  It really annoyed me!  I understand why teachers give you a schedule, but I was one of those readers who resented being told what to read when.  So, most of the time, I didn’t read it!

Now, almost 10 years since the great expectation for freshman me to read Great Expectations, I realize that I missed out on a lot of really awesome books simply because I wasn’t ready to appreciate them when I was supposed to be reading them. 

So thank goodness for The Classics Club.  They have inspired me to make time to read some of these books I should have read years ago, and to read the books that are worthy of the descriptor “classic.”  I have made the pledge, which is this:  I will read 52 classic books by November of 2017.  That equates to one classic novel every 5 weeks.  This task seems really daunting to me, yet at the same time I am determined to succeed.  There are books on this list that I just need to read!

So here is my list, which consists of “classics” in all sorts of genres:  literature, children’s, science fiction, historical fiction, horror, contemporary.  There is a little bit of everything on this list to accomodate my rather ecclectic reading style anyway.  So without further ado, my list of books is: 

(In alphabetical order by author’s last name)

Adams, Douglas: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Alcott, Louisa May: Little Women
Aligheiri, Dante: The Divine Comedy
Atwood, Margaret: A Handmaid’s Tale
Austen, Jane: Northanger Abbey
Barrie, J.M. : Peter Pan
Bradbury, Ray: Fahrenheit 451
Bronte, Emily: Wuthering Heights
Burnett, Francis Hodgens: The Secret Garden
Camus, Albert: The Stranger
Card, Orson Scott: The Ender’s Game
Christie, Agatha: And Then There Were None
Dahl, Roald: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
DiCamillo, Kate: The Tales of Despereaux
Dickens, Charles: Great Expectations
Dostoyevesky, Fyodor: The Brothers Karamazov
Dostoyevesky, Fyodor: The Idiot
Golding, William: Lord of the Flies
Grahame, William: The Wind in the Willows
Greene, Graham: The Heart of the Matter
Hawthorne, Nathaniel: The Scarlett Letter
Hemingway, Ernest: The Sun Also Rises
Herbert, Frank: Dune
Hesse, Hermann: Steppenwolf
Homer: The Odyssey
Hurston, Zora Neale: Their Eyes Were Watching God
Juster, Norton: The Phantom Tollbooth
Kesey, Ken: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
King, Stephen: The Shining  (Review here.)  1/13/13
London, Jack: The Call of the Wild
London, Jack: White Fang
Marquez, Gabriel Garcia: One Hundred Years of Solitude
Maurier, Daphne: Rebecca
McCarthy, Cormac: The Road
Mitchell, David: Cloud Atlas
Mitchell, Margaret: Gone with the Wind
Orwell, George: 1984
Paterson, Katherine: Bridge to Terabithia
Potok, Chaim: My Name is Asher Lev
Pynchon, Thomas: V.
Rand, Ayn: The Fountainhead
Raskin, Ellen: The Westing Game
Sewell, Anna: Black Beauty
Shelley, Mary: Frankenstein
Stoker, Brahm: Dracula
Tolkein, J.R.R.: The Hobbit
Tolkein, J.R.R.: The Lord of the Rings
Tolstoy, Leo: Anna Karenina
Tolstoy, Leo: War and Peace
Travers, P.L.: Mary Poppins
Voltaire: Candide
Vonnegut, Kurt: Slaughter-House Five
Wharton, Edith: The Age of Innocence
Woolf, Virginia: To The Lighthouse

So, I am officially starting this challenge! I am starting with reading the Hobbit (in honor of the movie) and listening to The Shining on audio.  Let the Classic Club Challenge BEGIN!

 (Review here.)

Love and Sunday Mornings,
Jennifer

4 thoughts on “The Classics Club: My Pledge

  1. Sandy says:

    What a noble goal! I like reading classics too, but they take me a while because of the language. I actually do plan to have a goal for next year to read 6 classics. Right now Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, A Tale of Two Cities, Emma, and Mansfield Park are on my list. I'm not sure what the 6th one will be. Maybe Sense and Sensibility. Good luck!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

