Top Ten Tuesday! (34)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Favorite New-to-Me Authors I read in 2012!

So becoming a book blogger has allowed me to discover a lot of new authors this year!  There are authors that Book Bloggers just rave about that I have picked up and fallen in love with!  So I will showcase my top ten authors I am thankful I discovered this year!

Dan Wells!

Books I have read by him this year:  Partials

Why I Adore Him:  To me, Partials is YA novel perfection!  Sci-fi, killer viruses, and kick-butt heroine.  Just fell in love with his writing style, and I dying to read his other works!

Laini Taylor!
 
Books I have read by her this year:  Daughter of Smoke and Bone
 
Why I Adore Her:  She has created one of the most intricate and dark fantasy worlds I have ever read!  I cannot wait to get my hands on Days of Blood and Starlight!

David Levithan!

What I Have Read By Him This Year:  Boy Meets Boy and Every Day

Why I Adore Him:  What can I say about David Levithan?  He writes such beautiful and moving stories, and I cannot wait to get my hands on the rest of his!  I have bought 3 more of his books I need to read very soon!

John Green! 
 
What I Have Read By Him This Year:  The Fault in our Stars and Paper Towns
 
Why I Adore Him:  John Green is an author who can create truly memorable stories and characters.  He writes those characters that just nestle into your heart and stay there forever. 

Rick Riordan!

What I Have Read By Him This Year:  Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series (Books 1-5)

Why I Adore Him:  He has taken a subject that everyone has to learn in school at some point and has given it a new and exciting life!  I think I learned more about Greek mythology from his books than I ever did in school.  I just love what he has done!

Stephanie Perkins!
 
What I Have Read By Her This Year:  Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door
 
Why I Adore Her:  She has written contemporary YA books that I really love!  Her characters are so real and genuine, and her boys are so swoon-worthy! I am in love! 

Cassandra Clare!

What I Have Read By Her This Year:  The Mortal Instruments Series (Books 1-5) and The Infernal Devices Series (Books 1-2)

Why I Adore Her:  She created this world that spans centuries!  I just love the exciting plots and loveable characters in her books!  But really I love how she intricately connects these two series together in subtle ways!  It’s an exciting adventure with every read!

 Haruki Murakami!
 
What I Have Read By Him This Year:  1Q84
 
Why I Adore Him:  I love finding literary authors with such a talent for the craft of writing.  He took a book about seemingly ordinary people with an ordinary plot and made it something intriguing.  I am anxious to read more of his novels next year! 


Gillian Flynn!

What I Have Read By Her This Year:  Sharp Objects, Dark Places, and Gone Girl

Why I Adore Her:  She writes such psychologically twisted stories that I just gobble up!  I love her flawed characters and her completely twisted plots!  She writes crime/mystery novels that I actually love!

Ally Carter!
 
What I Have Read By Her This Year:  The Gallagher Girls Series (Books 1-5)
 
Why I Adore Her:  She has written such a fun series with fantastic characters.  What started out as a light and fun read has turned into something serious and complicated, and I have loved every minute of this transformation.  I really want to read her other series next year!

 So these are my top ten new authors that I immediately fell in love with!  I am excited to read more works by each of them!

Who have you fallen in love with this year! Leave me a link to your TTT and let me know!

Love and Home Alone,
Jennifer
 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (34)

  1. Sandy says:

    Dan Wells and Laini Taylor are on my list. Cassie Clare I read several years ago for the first time. And I still haven't read David Levithan or John Green, but they're both at the top of my TBR list. Check out my TTT.Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

I'd love to know your thoughts!

