Top Ten Tuesday! (35)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

This week’s topic is supposed to be the top ten books I have read in 2012.  But I am doing a Week-long End of the Year/Bloggeversary Extravaganza where I will be posting this list, so I don’t want to post it early here.  So instead I have made this list to be something festive and centered on the younger reader…heehee.  So I have chosen to do:
 
Top Ten Christmas Picture Books!
 
As a library page, I shelve books all day long.  And this month, a lot of those books are the ever-wonderful Christmas books in honor of the holiday season.  So naturally, I take a look at the ones that catch my eye and capture my heart!  So here is a list of Christmas Picture books I have shelved this month that I have really enjoyed reading and looking at this month!

 

1.   Santa Duck and His Merry Helpers by David Milgrim:  A cute story about a duck that dresses up like Santa Claus.  Who wouldn’t love a Santa Duck?

2.  Bah! Humbug? by Lorna and Lecia Balian:  The story of a brother and sister and the truth about Santa. 

3.  Humphrey’s Christmas by Sally Hunter:  I couldn’t resist including an elephant Christmas book!  This is just a sweet story about all the things Humphrey does during the holidays!

4.  Olive the Other Reindeer by J. Otto Seibold:  A dog named Olive hears the line “All of the Other Reindeer” and thinks that Santa is calling her to his service! The merry adventures of the 10th reindeer!

5.  A Christmas Wish by Marcus Sedgwick:  A beautifully illustrated Christmas story about wishing for snow. 

6.  One Night in a Stable by Guido Visconti:  A retelling of the Biblical Christmas story from the animals’ perspectives.  Very sweet!

 

7.  The Santa Trap by Jonathan Emmett:  The hilarious tale of an evil kid who wants to catch Santa Claus!

8.  The Twelve Days of Christmas by Jane Ray:  There are so many versions of this book out there, I just wanted to showcase the one with a cute understory to it!  Plus, the illustrations are just beautiful!

9.  The Twelve Bots of Christmas by Nathan Hale:  I end with the most brilliant of them all.  If you are a sci-fi geek, then this is definitely the Christmas book for you!  Absolutely brilliant! =)

If you have children, these are some great children’s reads for Christmas time!  And if you don’t have children, but you love children’s books, then these are some GREAT reads!  😉 

Leave me a link to your top ten books of the year and I’ll stop by to look!  Hopefully I will find some new books to add to my ever-growing TBR list!

Love and The Hobbit,
Jennifer 



 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (35)

I'd love to know your thoughts!

