2012 Best Contemporary/Realistic Reads

I am typically not one to pick up a contemporary YA read and like it because many of them tend to be filled with a lot of teenage angst and drama that I find more annoying than amusing.  So when I find one that I do like, I want to scream it from the top of a mountain and push it on every single person I pass (Yes, I am a book pusher). 

So I wanted to share with you all the best contemporary/realistic reads I have read this year!  So without further ado (and in no particular order):

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
(My review is here)

Okay, so I realize that this is on most people’s top list this year, including TIME magazine!  But there is a reason, people!  This novel embodies the definition of an emotional, romantic ride through life with characters you will fall in love with and never forget.  Truly, this is a fantastic story and worthy of all of the hype it receives.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley
(My review will be posted later this week)
 
I just finished this book last week, and I honestly was not expecting a story like the one I read.  This is a coming of age type of story of epic proportions.  It is delicately told through brilliant story-writing that really makes you think about your own philosophy about life.  Definitely worth a look at if you like a good story!
 
 
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
 


The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg
(My Review is here.)

Honestly, Elizabeth Eulberg has become one of my favorite YA authors because A) she writes awesome stories about smart girls with heads on their shoulders and B) she is just awesome!  The Lonely Hearts Club is a book set in high school without all of the teenage angst and drama, but girls who figure out how to be okay with who they are!  A book after my own heart =)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
(My Review is here.)

So Lola may be one of my favorite YA contemporary/realistic protagonists ever!  She is spunky and not afraid to ber herself, and yet she still cares about the people around her.  And Cricket….Cricket is such a fantastic romantic interest. Totally crushworthy!  And this story has quite a lot of depth for a contemporary YA romance, which I appreciated!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Crank by Ellen Hopkins
(My Review is here.)

Crank is one of those novels that sticks with you long after you finish it.  This is definitely not an easy read because it deals with a lot of raw emotion that punctures your heart.  And Ellen Hopkins tells it beautifully and brilliantly through verse poetry.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
(Currently Reading)

Okay, maybe this is cheating, but honestly book bloggers are all about cheating when making Top Whatever lists!  I am currently reading through this book for the first time as a Christmasy read, and I am ABSOLUTELY loving it!  It is just so cute and it started in a bookshop and Dash is all about the written word and Lily is so adorable and…..yeah.  =)  I think it’ll be on this list when I finish it lol.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

But I do not just read YA.  I also read a lot of realistic adult fiction.  And while, surprisingly, I did not read any Jodi Picoult or Kristin Hannah novels this year (two of my favorite adult contemporary authors), I have managed to find a couple of fantastic Adult Contemporary/Realistic Fiction reads too!!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Room by Emma Donaghue
(My Review is here.)

Sometimes contemporary reads are light and fun.  This read is heavy.  But it is such an interesting book from a psychological/sociological perspective.  It probably does not appeal to everyone, but those with an interest/background in the social sciences would find this novel fascinating I think.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
(My Review is here.)

This was the first book I reviewed on this blog.  Coincidentally, it is also one of my favorite reads of the year.  This book is so beautifully written.  This is a book about the ups and downs of life and the love of true family, no matter what form it may come in.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

So those are my favorite contemporary/realistic reads from my 2012 reading ventures!  Stay tuned for a contemporary review later today as well as more awesome posts all week long!

And don’t forget to enter my giveaway!  And earn all the extra entries you can!

Love and Dark 60% Cacao,
Jennifer

One thought on “2012 Best Contemporary/Realistic Reads

  1. Cayce says:

    I have only read Lola and…from your list, but while I was blown away by Anna and the French Kiss, Lola was just an okay book for me…The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is on tbr list. It's just that I'm kinda scared to read it…, but I'll will…one day…Happy Holidays, Jennifer! 🙂

I'd love to know your thoughts!

