2012 Best Science Fiction

I have always been attracted to the Sci-fi genre, ever since I was a little girl.  I really can’t tell you why I LOVED The Time Machine when I read it in 8th grade, or why I am obsessed with killer viruses.  There is just something so thrilling about all different types of Sci-Fi:  Time Travel, Dystopia, Post-Apocalyptic, Scientific Discoveries…  The awesomeness is limitless!  So naturally, when I think about the Best Science Fiction reads of the year, my list is quite long!

Partials by Dan Wells
(My Review is here. )

This novel is everything I look for in the sci-fi genre, wrapped into one!  A post-apocalyptic scenario (KILLER VIRUS), a well-structured dystopian society, and a huge scientific focus.  It also has a kick-butt heroine with exciting plot development!  A real winner!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Eve and Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
(Have not posted a review yet…I’m still a little behind)

This was the novel that got me out of my reading slump a few weeks back.  I was hooked from the very beginning.  There is just something about a genetics simulation that thrills me! It was an easy read and a fun read, and I liked the scientific world that these two authors create!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Genesis by Bernard Beckett
(My Review is here. )

This little book COMPLETELY BLEW MY MIND!  It was a completely shocking read, and I love it when an author can completely surprise me!  If you are looking for something unexpected, I cannot recommend this quick read enough! It packs a punch!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
(My Review is here. )

A fairy-tale retelling with cyborgs and a moon race?  HECK YES SIGN ME UP!  This was such a thrilling read that completely engaged me from beginning to end!  I loved that this story could be both predictable and surprising at the same time!  And there is a virus in this book, too, which doesn’t hurt 😉

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Insurgent by Veronica Roth
(My Review is here. )

I am in the “I loved Insurgent even more than Divergent” camp.  This books showcases all of the factions in some way, which I really loved learning more about.  This dystopia definitely comes with some major twists, making this book so great!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Roth
(My Review is here. )

This is one of the best examples of great world-building in a futuristic science-fiction novel this year.  Two parts of one world come together through two fantastic characters.  The writing itself is engaging, lending itself to a great story!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

This is Not A Test by Courtney Summers
(My Review is here. )

Zombie apocalypse!  The world has been taken over by zombies, and a few students have taken refuge at their high school.  This narration in this book is completely unreliable, which is why I absolutely fell in love with it!  Such a great story!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda
(My Review is here. )

I know this is a vampire book, which would normally be classified as paranormal fantasy.  But this is also very post-apocalyptic/dystopia, which is why I included it on this list.  This was so a quick-paced novel full of excitement and an intriguing vampire society! 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Feed by Mira Grant
(My Review is here. )

This is a political conspiracy thriller set 20 years after the zombie apocalypse.  Also, the characters in this novel are all BLOGGERS! =) With great character development and an engaging story, this book is definitely fantastic!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Crewel by Gennifer Albin
(My review is here. )

Guys, this is seriously one of the coolest books I have read this year.  This world is weaved together so beautifully that you just keep wanting more!  Crewel is definitely one of those stories that sucks you in immediately and the next thing you know you have read the last page!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

So those are my favorite Science Fiction reads for this year.  Have you read any?  Which is YOUR favorite?  Comment and let me know!

And don’t forget to enter my giveaway! And earn all the extra entries you can!

Love and Biscuits,
Jennifer

One thought on “2012 Best Science Fiction

  1. Cayce says:

    Partials, The Hunt and Feed are all my favorites too :)I really enjoyed Divergent, but Insurgent was just okay for me…I haven't read Eve and Adam, but am a huge fan of the Gone series by Michael Grant. Have you read Gone?

I'd love to know your thoughts!

