2012 Best Fantasy Reads

I have never really been a lover of fantasy novels.  And yet, somehow, a TON of fantasy novels made there way on my TBR list, and this year I picked up a quite a few of them…..and FELL IN LOVE!  Why hadn’t I picked up more fantasy after reading and loving Harry Potter?  I do not know!  But now I have, and i wanted to share my most favorite fantasy reads this year!

Fairytales

 Storybound by Marissa Burt (My Review is here. )  :  This is such a beautiful MG story about the land of Story where fairy tale characters train for their story roles.  So cute and entrancing, and I cannot wait for the sequel!

The Hero’s Guide to Saving your Kingdom by Christopher Healy (My Review is here. )  :  One of my favorite reads of this year!  This book is so comical and enchanting!  The Prince Charmings adventures are super entertaining!  And it’s a great read for MG boys!

Enchanted by Alethea Kontis (My Review is here. )  :  This is a re-telling like none I have ever read.  A lot of familiar faces in the fairy-tale world get meshed together in this beautiful, romantic story.

Paranormal Fantasy

 City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare (My Review is here. )  :  I enjoyed the original trilogy, especially City of Glass. So when I got to Book Four and it was even better than City of Glass!  We get more backstory from some of the minor characters.  I loved it! It’s my favorite in the series!

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare (My Review is here. )  :  The Infernal Devices series is SOOOO FANTASTIC!  This is more of a historical fantasy, as it takes place in Victorian England, which actually makes it SO AWESOME!  And I just love all of these characters. What a great read!

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan (My Review is here. )  :  Okay, if you are looking for a sensible Vampire book, then look no further than this piece of brilliancy!  These two have created one of the best satirical works I have ever read! 

Magical Realism

 Every Day by David Levithan (My Review is here. )  :  I tried my hardest to bring this book justice in my review, so I will not attempt it again.  But just know….this book is beautiful.

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (My Review is here. )  :  This is a magical story about a family’s love.  Just beautiful.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (My Review is here. )  :  I think that there is something about magical realism books….they are just superb!  This story is so intricate and magical, I just couldn’t put it down!

Mythology

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows (My Review is here. )  :  A mythology about the reincarnation of souls.  This novel takes us into a beautifully constructed world that has been affected by a new soul.  Just beautiful writing.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (My Review is here. )  :  This is such a beautiful story about the evil side of the good vs. evil fight.  How freakin’ cool!  I have not read the sequel yet, but that is first on my list for next year!

The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan (My Review is here. )  :  This was my favorite book of this 5 book series!  I found the labyrinth to be so cool!  But this series overall is just a great way to really learn about Greek mythology!

So, these are my favorite fantasy reads of this year.  Obviously, I read a lot of fantasy novels to have to limit my choices to 12 lol!  But they are all so good I just had to shout out to them all! =)

And don’t forget to enter my giveaway! And earn all the extra entries you can!

Love and Pushy Top Pens,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “2012 Best Fantasy Reads

  1. Krystianna says:

    I absolutely loved Incarnate! I really want to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone… I've heard so many amazing reviews and I'm really hoping to jump on the band wagon soon. Team Human sounds like an amazing read. I remember seeing the trailer.Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  2. Cayce says:

    I loved Every Day!!! So soulful and so beautiful. And I'd love to read a sequel to it…The Night Circus is on my tbr list. I heard it's similar to Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, which was a book I LOVED šŸ™‚

I'd love to know your thoughts!

