Audiobook Review: We’ll Always Have Summer

Title:  We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han
(Summer #3)

Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary/Realistic Fiction, Romance

Published:  April 26th, 2011 by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Audiobook,  400 minutes

How I Got this Book:  Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?:  I listened to the first two, so I had to know how this series ends!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “It’s been two years since Conrad told Belly to go with Jeremiah. She and Jeremiah have been inseparable ever since, even attending the same college– only, their relationship hasn’t exactly been the happily ever after Belly had hoped it would be. And when Jeremiah makes the worst mistake a boy can make, Belly is forced to question what she thought was true love. Does she really have a future with Jeremiah? Has she ever gotten over Conrad? It’s time for Belly to decide, once and for all, who has her heart forever.”

My Review of this Work:

I will keep this review short, sweet, and spoiler free! (Here are my reviews of Book 1 and Book 2 in this series, if you are interested).

In this final book of the Summer series, we find Belly finishing her first year at university (the same one as her now boyfriend, Jeremiah, of course!).  After a celebrational end-of-the-year party, Belly finds out some things about Jeremiah that could damage their relationship forever.  After a week of not talking, Jeremiah proposes marriage, and Belly, who doesn’t want to lose him, says yes.  Then comes a summer of wedding planning.  And, oh, Conrad returns from California, stirring this already full pot!

This book has me torn.  On the one hand, I found myself emotionally wrapped up in this story from beginning to end.  The emotional connection I have formed with these characters in the first two novels is amplified in this third installment.  Belly not only deals with being in love with two men, she also goes through a rough patch in her relationship with her mother.  We finally get insight into Conrad’s mind, gaining a fuller understanding of who he is and what he has gone through over the course of this series.  And Jeremiah…I wish I had nice things to say about him.  But honestly, he kind of turned into an immature jerk.  But their interactions with each other drive the emotional roller coaster that is this novel.

But then there was the logical part.  A rushed wedding, after the blow out Jeremiah and Belly had, is just not rational at all!  I do not understand how Belly could agree to a quick and spontaneous proposal, especially with where their relationship stood.  Marriage is something that should not be that rash of a decision, and I kind of lost a little respect for her for agreeing to marrying Jeremiah in this situation.  It just didn’t make sense to me.  I honestly could not grasp her decision-making process.

Whatever I thought about the plot and development, the ending was extremely fulfilling for me.  Though I figured out the ending pretty quickly, I still found myself pleasantly surprised with how everything played out.  And, my friends, the epilogue is an ending I could be happy with.

My Bookshelf Rating:

A Middle Shelf Book.

This was a good (though somewhat predictable) ending to this emotional series.  I found this book in particular to be a balancing act between emotions and rational thinking.  While I did not agree with many of Belly’s choices in this novel, I still found myself emotionally involved.  The conclusion to this series is very fulfilling and lovely.  This is a nice series to listen to, if you are looking for an audiobook.

Love and Eric Balfour,
Jennifer

I'd love to know your thoughts!

