Mini Reviews #4

Here are some mini reviews of books I read waaaay back in 2012 (haha but seriously…like October of 2012) that got lost in the jumble that was YALLFest + December sick month.  So here they are now!  Enjoy!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Ten by Gretchen McNeil

**Warning, spoilers ahead! I cannot remove the spoilers from this review. I am too snarky with this book.**

This book made it on my list of Biggest Disappointments of 2012.  I was really excited to read this book because the premise just sounded AWESOME.  While I did find the plot really fast-paced, the actually story annoyed me.  I know it is a retelling of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, but all of the characters sucked.  And the romance was so silly, and the ending was HORRIBLE!  “Oh no, all of our friends died, including my BFF, but I LURRRVE YOU!”  Yeah.  I didn’t like this so much.

My Bookshelf Rating:  Second Shelf Book (2 out of 5 Stars) (Middle and High School)

Note:  Many bloggers absolutely LOVED this book, so don’t take my word for it! If the horror/slasher books interest you, pick this one up. You may enjoy it more than me.

~*~*~

DNF:  The Shadow Society by Marie Rutkoski

Guys, I really wanted to like this book.  It was on my TBR since I first heard about it months before it came out, and I was super excited to get my hands on it.  But then I picked it up and read it.  The writing was sub-par, and the first 50 pages introduced a story much like Twilight.  There’s a boy at school that is dark and mysterious and keeps staring at our main gal and yet he always looks angry but then they become partners on a project and that forces them to talk to each other and then she finds out what he is (and likewise, what she is too).  Only I found this intro to be even worse than Twilight.  And by the time I got to what the whole Shadow Society aspect was, I was bored.  And then there was some secret spy/agent thing going on, and it was too much, so I quit.  This one just wasn’t for me.  But again, a lot of bloggers really adore this one.

(note:  The summary above is a review of the first 70 pages, because that is as far as I got.)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Audioreview:  Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter
(The Gallagher Girls #5)

The first four books in this series were full of excitement and thrill.  But this latest book….honestly, it is on another playing field entirely!  Not only is there more action and espionage conspiracy, but we also get a lot of psychological development of our characters!  The story this novel tells is much darker, and I feel like it propels our characters into the final book!  I cannot wait!

And I cannot recommend this series on audio enough!  It is exciting and fun to listen to!  Each character gets their own voice, and the pacing is superb!

My Bookshelf Rating:  A Fourth Shelf Book (4.5 out of 5 stars!) I was very impressed! (Middle and High School)

~*~*~

Love and The Taste,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews #4

  1. Laura Ashlee says:

    I was wondering if you ever finished The Shadow Society. It was one of the books I could choose for my book reviews in my YA class, but I decided no after how you described it.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

