Top Ten Tuesday! (43)

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Thirteen of my Favorite Books Before I Became A Blogger

I have always been an avid reader. And actually, before becoming a blogger, I was an extremely avid re-reader. I would read and read the same books over and over because I loved them so much. So, here is a list of the books I deemed my favorites before I became a book blogger last year. (And yes, these are still some of my favorite books!)

Juvenile Fiction:

CharlotteDoyle1 Where-the-Red-Fern-Grows-9780440412670 matilda-1

True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi:  An adventure on the sea that is full of excitement and has a strong female! A wonderful historical fiction story! Still remains one of my favorite books of all time!

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls:  A classic novel about love and friendship. Such a heartbreaking story that gets me every single time.

Matilda by Roald Dahl:  What a wonderful story for any book-lover! Matilda is so inquisitive, and Miss Honey is every student’s dream

School Classics:

tumblr_lmjey1ello1qe8w8vo1_400 christmas-carol 2493

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde: I read this book and fell in love immediately with the story. There is just something so intriguing about Dorian. I just love the character development and the setting.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens: I can’t really tell you why this book resonated with me so much. It was probably because I read it for the first time right after I took a seminar class on the self and identity, and I read this familiar story with a new perspective and I loved it! Plus, this novel is written in a completely different style than many of his other works.

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells: I read this for the first time in 8th grade and just fell in love with the story. The time travel, the futuristic world, it all just fascinated me! This book made me fall in love with science fiction, and I continue to return to it when I need something familiar!

Contemporary Fiction: 

geisha37435 kite-runner-book-jacket 128029

Memoirs of A Geisha by Arthur Golden:  The culture, the characters, the romance (though unconventional) is so convincing that I can’t get enough of this novel. So much power and emotion held within these pages.

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd:  This book just touches me on so many levels. Love. Family. Friendship. Understanding. This novel is just beautiful on so many levels.

The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini: Okay, if you have ever been to my blog then you know my love for the novels that this man writes is ENORMOUS!! He writes such beautiful stories of love and family and redemption. There are very few stories that compare to these for me. Period.

Makes you Reflect on Life Reads: 

69006c49860a19c5693bce724f05584f7f51b93c7ecc 148871452

Tuesday’s With Morrie by Mitch Albom: You can learn so much about life from those who have already lived it. And this memoir has so many important lessons about life. Heartwarming.

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank:  This book. Guys, Anne Frank’s story is just…incredibly inspiring. Every time I read it I get something new out of it.

Love in the Ruins by Walker Percy: This is the only book on this list that I have read only once. Yet, this one has stuck with me since I read it in college. This is about the human condition and how people relate to each other. A fictional tale, but one with a lot of philosophy behind it. I need to read this one again soon and relive this story.

What are your pre-blogging favorite books? Have you read any of mine? Leave a comment and let me know!

Love and DWTS,

Jennifer

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (43)

  1. Dana says:

    Great list! I’ve read a few of your picks and agree. Wish I had kept a list of books I’ve read…I’ve forgotten so many that I’ve read.

    And thanks for visiting my blog earlier 😉

  2. Kelly L. says:

    Yay for Matilda! I remember devouring that book over and over again when it was first assigned to me for my fifth grade class. I don’t know where my copy of it went now. ):
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT! (:

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      I take my favorite books very seriously. They have to stand the test of time for me, including multiple rereads. And all of these books mean something to me, which I love. I read them all at different times in my life where the themes just resonated with me. They are all fantastic! =)

  3. Akilah says:

    I really need to hop on the Oscar Wilde train. I have a bunch of his stuff on my TBR but haven’t taken the leap yet. I think I’ll make Picture of Dorian Gray a summer read.

    I don’t know if I can read Anne Frank’s book again. It made me so sad. I mean, I loved reading it and she’s positive and hopeful, but it breaks my heart so much. I’m so glad I read it, though.

  4. Litza says:

    Ooh! There are some amazing books on your list! Matilda has always been my favorite Dahl book. Love it! I still remember when we read the Diary of a Young Girl in school. It touched my heart so much. Thanks very much for sharing this list and for stopping by my blog, too! And yes, you should definitely read the Goose Girl. It’s amazing!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

