Top Ten Tuesday! (45)

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Actually Did!

Going into a book having expectations can be a very bad thing–because there are many times when a book just doesn’t live up to those expectations. But on the flip side, there are many times where you go into a book haphazardly and the book greatly surprises you! So I am going to feature both lists today. =)

Books I thought I’d like MORE than I actually did (I wish I did like these books more, but alas…):

49628Most Disappointing Reads of 2012

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell: This book is my most recent disappointment. This is not a novel for story lovers at all. It’s all post-modern structure. Not all it’s cracked up to be, honestly. (Review here)

Ten by Gretchen McNeil: So many people LOVED this, so I just knew I was gonna like it, too. Except the characters annoyed me, and the “scary thriller” was more like, say what?! Such a disappointment. (Review here)

Book Review: Die for MeMost Disappointing Reads of 2012

Die For Me by Amy Plum: Again, this is another book that bloggers just raved about. But honestly, this novel fell super flat for me. Everything about it was just meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh. ( Review here)

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting: Paranormal detective, can sense dead bodies? YES PLEASE! Unfortunately, it just didn’t grab me. (Review here)

My Bout of Books Readathon Progress

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisen: I don’t know what happened with this one. Maybe because I switched between reading and audiobook. I just don’t know. Something just didn’t click with this one. (Review here)

Books I didn’t think I would LOVE as much as I did! (And I am TOTALLY IN LOVE!):

Many of my answers for this question are actually featured in last week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, so I’m not going to repeat those answers, but I’ll still link to them in case you want to know! =)

Book Review: Every Day

Every Day by David Levithan: I went into this book expecting greatness. I was not expecting this amazingly lyrical story that was just….AMAZING!!! AHH! (Review here!)

Book Review: The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom2012 Best Science Fiction

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy: I was expecting a cute adventure story with fairytale tie ins. But this books is SO MUCH MORE! (Review here!)

Partials by Dan Wells: With so many dystopia/post-apocalyptic literature out there now, I don’t know what I was expecting when I read this. But it wasn’t my YA book perfection! Seriously! (Review here!)

9461872My Top Ten Books reviewed of 2012

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares: This is a book I read pre-blogging, and I was really nervous about it because it is a 10 years later 5th book to one of my teenage favorite series, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants! I didn’t know how this was going to go, but I can tell you…I WAS NOT EXPECTING TO BAWL MY EYES OUT. So good! Finished in one night! (No review)

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare: After the conclusion of the first Mortal Instruments trilogy, I didn’t know where the story was going to go in Book 4. BUT HOLY CRAP! THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK OF THE SERIES! LOVE!! (Review here!)

So those are my answers for this week? Were any of you disappointed in the same books I was? Have you read any of these books that I love? Leave me a comment and let’s discuss!

Love and TEAM MIDAS WHALE (because they were AWESOME tonight! #TheVoice),

Jennifer

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (45)

  1. Books, Tea & Me says:

    I also wasn’t sure what Cassandra Clare was going to do for Book 4 of The Mortal Instruments (considering it was only supposed to be a trilogy), but holy crap am I glad she wrote another book for the series. So good!

  2. angelicreader says:

    SO I need to get my stuff in order and actually stick to my reading list. And get to Mortal Instruments. I am starting to feel like I am the only person who hasn’t read at least one of the books!
    Nice list 🙂

    My TTT

  3. Michelle says:

    I’ve been wanting to read Ten… that stinks its not as thrilling as it claims to be 😦 The Body Finder series is also one I’ve been thinking about reading bc so many people talk about it…. hmmm idk. Everyday does look really good as well.

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

  4. Maggie @ Just a Couple More Pages says:

    I have to read Every Day, I’ve actually (hangs head in shame) never read a David Levithan book. And I have Every Day at home.

    And I agree about Sisterhood Everlasting, I didn’t expect much at all going in but I ended up really liking it!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. thelibrarianchick says:

    LOL, you loved City of Fallen Angels whereas I didn’t. I love how books touch people differently. The Body Finder is on my stack of books to read next week. Here’s hoping I enjoy it more than you did.

  6. Lauren @ Lose Time Reading says:

    I just purchased Ten so I’m interested to see what I think! I normally don’t read thrillers because I’m a chicken so this will probably still scare me, lol. I also didn’t expect to love Partials like I did but I ADORED it ❤

I'd love to know your thoughts!

