Top Ten Tuesday! (48)

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013!

Wow, what an appropriate topic for the week of the halfway point of the year! I know I have been slacking on the blog lately, but trust me, I have been reading A TON! and I have read some great (and not so great) books this year! So here are the top ten books I have read so far this year!

I have split my list up into Top Ten Books and Top Five Audiobooks. I do this because, at least for me, I cannot compare reading a book to listening to it. Many of my ratings of books that I listen to have a lot to do with the performance by the narrator. So I have highlighted 5 that I think are just stupendous performances!

Best Books:

158180821136639715811543

1. The Program by Suzanne Young:  I just finished this today, actually, and it is SO FANTASTIC! If you want a futuristic/alternative US that really makes you think and reflect about life and yourself, then pick up this book! It is intriguing and gripping and well-written. Great characters, great story!

2. The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards by Kristopher Jansma: What a fantastic post-modern literary novel! In the likeness of Philip Roth, Walker Percy, and Vladimir Nabokov, Jansma has created a story that makes you question identity and truth.

3. Destiny, Rewritten by Kathryn Fitzmaurice: My favorite MG novel so far this year! This is a cute and quirky story that I finished in one sitting. Just the perfect blend of magical realism and contemporary fiction.

61311641575374019063

4. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare: Such a great way to wrap up to probably one of my favorite trilogies of all time! It is beautiful and wonderful and perfect! EPICALLY PERFECT!!!

5. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult: Definitely my favorite Jodi Picoult novel. This one is a lot different from her other novels. I really loved the interpolated memoir in this story. Plus, there is the Holocaust story, which I just cannot seem to resist. This is poignant and beautiful.

6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: For so long I have heard “YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!” So I finally read it. And it was SO unique and SO interesting and SO sad.

13069935Top Ten Tuesday! (33)13253276

7. Ask the Passengers by A.S. King:

8. The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan: A love story told in dictionary entry vignettes. David Levithan writes about the ups and downs of love in the most unique way possible. What a wonderful little book!

9. Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi: Such an awesome 2nd book in a trilogy! Love the character development and world development and just the awesome sci-fi-ness that is this book!

12996425

10. Kill You Twice by Chelsea Cain: This is the 5th book in the Gretchen and Archie series, and it is BY FAR my favorite! This entire series is SO GOOD, if you enjoy the psychologically twisted crime stories, then read this series!

Best Audios:

49750 7664334 375802

1. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: This is such a fun story! It’s humorous, it’s heart-warming, and the narrative performance is GREAT! A quick and entertaining listen!

2. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: A road-trip story that is also a grieving/healing/growing story. A beautiful and emotional audio performance!

3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card: Orson Scott Card wrote this book with the intention for it to be read aloud and performed by multiple narrators. And I am really glad to have listened to this one! It is a great listen, for sure!

985873374855Top Ten Tuesday! (40)

4-6. Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin: Guys, Roy Dotrice is a freakin’ amazing narrator! Yes, listening to this series on audio is a HUGE time investment, but so is reading them. I decided to listen to them because I didn’t want to invest weeks of reading time on just one book. And it was a GREAT decision. Roy Dotrice makes each and every character come alive in a unique way (and there are SO MANY). So I cannot recommend this series on audio enough!

 

So those are my top books I have read/listened to this year so far! Have you read any of these? Did you like them too? What have you enjoyed? Leave a comment/link!

Love and Ceiling Fans,
Jennifer

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (48)

  1. Sara (of The Page Sage) says:

    I LOVE Ask the Passengers, The Book Thief, Clockwork Princess (that one made my list, too), and Abundance of Katherines (though I haven’t listened to the audiobook). Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is on my summer TBR pile. It looks like a great read!

    My TTT

  2. Jessica@Lovin' Los Libros says:

    Oh I loved the Program! I almost put it on my list, but well. I already had 15. LOL. Clockwork Princess was great too. I need to read Through the Ever Night and I’m so excited because I just got Amy and Roger from the library! Great list!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier!

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    The Book Thief ended up a DNF for me. I was really disappointed, since historical is my genre and I frequently read and write about the WWII/Shoah era. That experience reinforced my longtime conviction of staying far away from books surrounded by massive amounts of hype. I wanted to punch the gimmicky narrator with his endless parade of spoilers.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

