May and June 2013 in Review

My Month in Review

This will be where I list the books I have read this month, movies I have seen, notable acquisitions, and anything else that I find worthy of telling you. =)

A Crazy Couple of Months:

Well, if you have been a reader here for any length of time, then you will know that the past couple of months have been a little crazy for me. At the beginning of May, I quit Library Job #1 of two because of scheduling and starting school in the fall. Then it was a mad-rush to get my apartment packed up so I could move to my new (and bigger) home! After a couple of EXHAUSTING weeks, we finally got everything from one place to another and handed in our keys to the old place the second week of June (on a Monday). That Wednesday evening started the my BFF’s pre-wedding festivities, and the rest of that week we hosted 15 different guests at our new place. FUN, but EXHAUSTING. And then, the wedding was over, and moving was over, and hubby and I did NOTHING for an entire week (other than go to work).

Oh yeah, I also had a job interview back at Library #1 for an upgraded position (from page to library assistant) which I am happy to say I GOT! So now I am in the process of transitioning from library #2 back to library #1. And, for the next two weeks, back to working two jobs. HAHA oh well!

Needless to say, it has been a crazy, busy, hectic couple of months! But I am [mostly] back now, trying to catch up on A LOT of reviews I need to write. But hopefully July will prove to be productive on the blogging front.

And so, without further ado, here is the summary of the past two months!

May Books Read:
I Have Lived A Thousand Years by Livia Bitton-Jackson (4 stars)13069935
Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz (3 stars)
Once by Morris Gleitzman (4 stars)
A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin on audio (4.5 stars)
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (5 stars)
The Selection by Kiera Cass (re-read, 4 stars)
The Elite by Kiera Cass (4 stars)
Heist Society by Ally Carter on audio (3 stars)
Ask the Passengers by A.S. King (4.5 stars)
The Art of Wishing by Lindsay Ribar (3 stars)
Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham on audio (3.5 stars)
The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown (re-read, 3 stars)
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green on audio (5 stars)
Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Peterson on audio (5 stars)

 May Stats

Total Books:  14 books

Total Pages:  5155 pages

Total Minutes:  4306 minutes

Favorite New Book(s) Read This Month:  A Storm of Swords, An Abundance of Katherines, The Elite, Ask the Pa11366397ssengers,

June Books Read:
Inferno by Dan Brown (2 stars)
The Waiting Tree by Lindsay Moynihan (3 stars)
Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson on audio (4 stars)
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card on audio (4.5 stars)
Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella (3 stars)
See You At Harry’s by Jo Knowles on audio (4 stars)
The Program by Suzanne Young (5 stars)
The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin (4 stars)
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (4.5 stars)

June Stats:

Total Books: 9

Total Pages: 2870 pages

Total Minutes: 1643 minutes

Favorite Book(s) of the Month: The Program, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Challenge Update: New Authors Challenge:  26 out of 30 Audio Book Challenge: 10 out of 25 Stand Alone Reading Challenge: 9 out of 15 TBR Pile Challenge: 2 out of 12

We have hit the halfway point. I think I am doing pretty solid. Will have to definitely focus on my TBR books the 2nd half of this year, though!

My Posts and Reviews:

Book Review: The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards by Kristopher Jansma
Book Review: Zom-B City by Darren Shan
Book Review: Mini Book Reviews #5
Book Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

Children’s Corner: In Honor of My Big Move

And I participated in Bout of Books Readathon!

My May/June Movie Adventures: (With One Sentence Reviews!)

This year my co-workers have challenged me to watch more movies. So I have taken up a personal challenge (located under my 2013 Challenges tab) to watch some. So here are the ones I got to this month.
 I actually have watched quite a few movies over the past two months!
movies may june
Taken 2–Liam Niason kicks booty once again. That’s all this movie is. If you like that sort of thing, it’s entertaining action. =)
Pitch Perfect–This movie was SO AWESOME that I watched it twice in one day!!! Entertaining A-Capella FUN! The next great Young-Adult Comedy Movie!
Star Trek: Into Darkness–Guys, I loved the first one. And LOVED doesn’t even come close to expressing my feelings regarding this film. Epic Soundtrack, EPIC Zachary vs. Benedict, EPIC EPICNESS! Go see this if you haven’t already!
Contagion–A really interesting take on post-apocalyptic viral outbreak. Very psychological, really invokes thought-provoking scenarios. Made a viral end-of-the-world scenario become very real for me.
Zero Dark Thirty–Oscar nominated. This movie watched more like a documentary (albeit a great one) more than a film.
Warm Bodies–I loved the zombie lore that is outlined in this story. But it was just waaaay silly for me. Meeeeh.
Man of Steel–Henry Cavill is HAWT! But honestly, I am not in love with this movie like a majority of people are. I loved the first 45 minutes, with the scenes from Krypton and the flash backs that really helped develop this story. But then it turned into pure action movie, and the action scenes were about 30 minutes too long. And they messed up a lot of story-development. It was a good movie, don’t get me wrong, it just wasn’t a GREAT movie.
Lincoln–I’m sure this is a great movie for people who love stories telling historical events. And it was good acting, that’s for sure. Daniel Day Lewis represents everything that Lincoln is to me. But I’ll be honest, this movie has been playing mostly in the background as I have been typing up this post.
My Book Acquisitions:
I got a few books this month. But I couldn’t really tell you what they were. But, did you know that it is REALLY DIFFICULT to pack up and move a personal library? Because it is. It took about 20 boxes in total, just for books. HAHA. My mother and husband say I need to get rid of some. But I WON’T!
~*~*~*~*~

Well, that is all for My Month in Review! What was your favorite book you read in March? Favorite movie you saw? What are you most looking forward to reading next month! Comment and let me know! =)

Love and Being All Settled,

Jennifer

I'd love to know your thoughts!

