Audio Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe

16071745Title/Author: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

Genre: [New?] Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Realistic Fiction,

Published: April 30th, 2013 by Ballantine Books

Audiobook, 510 minutes

How I Got This Book: Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked it Up?: Honestly, Gilmore Girls is one of my favorite shows ever. So, yeah, I’m gonna pick up Lauren Graham’s debut novel. And I picked up the audio because SHE narrates it! Yippee!

Book Jacket Blurb: “Franny Banks is a struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three year deadline she gave herself to succeed. But so far, all she has to show for her efforts is a single line in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters and a degrading waitressing job. She lives in Brooklyn with two roommates-Jane, her best friend from college, and Dan, a sci-fi writer, who is very definitely not boyfriend material-and is struggling with her feelings for a suspiciously charming guy in her acting class, all while trying to find a hair-product cocktail that actually works.

Meanwhile, she dreams of doing “important” work, but only ever seems to get auditions for dishwashing liquid and peanut butter commercials. It’s hard to tell if she’ll run out of time or money first, but either way, failure would mean facing the fact that she has absolutely no skills to make it in the real world. Her father wants her to come home and teach, her agent won’t call her back, and her classmate Penelope, who seems supportive, might just turn out to be her toughest competition yet.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is a funny and charming debut about finding yourself, finding love, and, most difficult of all, finding an acting job.” (–From Goodreads)

My Review of this Work:

I am going to be perfectly honest with you: The only reason why I picked up this book is because Lauren Graham wrote it. (And the cover is pretty, but really, it’s all about Lorelai!) This is not the typical adult novel genre I would normally pick up, but how can I resist one of my favorite characters from one of my favorite TV shows?! And as soon as I found out that she was the narrator for the audio, I just KNEW I HAD to listen to it! Done and DONE!

First off, I have had a really hard time categorizing this novel. I feel like this would be one of those “betweeners” that falls into the ambiguous “new adult” genre. Franny is a 27 year old woman who is trying to figure out exactly if/how she fits into the world of acting. She has given herself a time-limit of three years to get her career up and running in the great city of NY, and her time is running out. Franny is beginning to evaluate and rethink her career path, all the while trying to advance herself as best as she can. This is a finding-yourself story, and even though it stars a post-grad, I think the “new adult” classification is appropriate.

As a narrator, Lauren Graham brings Franny alive in a way I do not think she would have lived if I had read this book. Graham has this raw vulnerability (and it probably is because I relate her to Lorelai, who is a mid-thirties woman who is still trying to find her place in the world) that just draws you in to her characterization of the MC. Her genuine voice allows Franny to grow and develop throughout the course of this story, and you just can’t help but like her and root for her!

This is the type of story that actually benefits from being read aloud, especially by the author. I don’t think I would have liked this book very much if I hadn’t listened to the audiobook. Through Lauren Graham’s performance, the story (and the characters) becomes a good listen. I fell in love with Frannie’s spunk and class, and I empathized with her predicament. Someday, Someday, Maybe is a story that everyone can relate to simply because everyone goes through a period of doubt about themselves (career or otherwise) at some point. Graham has captured the raw emotion of this experience and portrays it in a very realistic way, pulling the reader into this story from the get go. As a debut novelist, Lauren Graham has solidly entered the world of literature, and I will definitely pick up another book by her.

My Bookshelf Rating:

3shelf3A Middle Shelf Book.

Here’s the thing with this book for me:  Had I read this book, I don’t think I would have liked it all that much. It’s a cute story, but it would have just been another story. But listening to the audio, with Lauren Graham reading it, made this story come alive for me. These characters became people I cared about, even if I didn’t have much in common with them. Lauren Graham’s audio performance is entertaining and fun, yet equally emotional. A solid 3.5 listen.

Love and the Cello,
Jennifer

6 thoughts on “Audio Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe

    • Jennifer @ A Librarian's Library says:

      I definitely recommend audios! I would start with something without a lot of world-building (contemporary romance, or a thriller) to see how you listen (I found that I drifted in and out on occasion and missed something HUGE in a high fantasy world-building novel).

      I love listening to books because it allows me to “read” while I am commuting to work or cleaning the house. It’s very convenient!!! =)

I'd love to know your thoughts!

