Book Review: Obsidian

12578077Title/Author: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
(Lux #1)

Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Aliens

Published: November 23rd, 2011 by Entangled Teen

Paperback, 361 pages

How I Got This Book: Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?: I have been hearing about this series for forever! And it FINALLY came to print, and my library finally got a copy, so I immediately got myself on the wait list!

Book Jacket Blurb:  “Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.”

Thoughts:

Caution: Due to this review’s snarky content, spoilers are inevitable. Proceed at your own risk.

Everyone just LOVES this book! That made me really curious about this series, because it is just SO FANTASTIC! And I have been hearing about Daemon for over a year……..AND I WAS JUST REALLY CURIOUS! I wanted to meet this super sexy boy! And read this AWESOME book!

Unfortunately, I didn’t read an awesome book.

I read a book that made me laugh, and not because there were funny lines. It made me laugh because I felt like I was reading Twilight all over again. Quite literally. It was SO SIMILAR, it just made me laugh and roll my eyes (And just to establish my opinion…I like Twilight. It’s not the best written story out there, but it is entertaining and addicting and I enjoy it.). The similarities just kept popping up, and I couldn’t ignore them. AND IT GOT IN MY WAY OF ENJOYING THIS NOVEL!

For you to get an idea, here is a little side by side comparison:

new

Do you see what I mean? DO YOU SEE WHAT I MEAN?!?!?

And that’s not even all of them. Just the main points! There are SO many little details that are almost identical, too! It was just hard to get past

Now, I understand how difficult it has to be to write a story that is unique, I do. But I also know that there was a bandwagon started with Twilight, and I feel that this is one of those stories that is trying to ride the Twilight train. Which is fine, really. I just wish it wasn’t SO BLATANT! The similar plot points really distracted me from enjoying Obsidian as its own story.  And I probably could have over looked a lot of these “quirks” if I had connected with the characters. But alas.

Katy is our main girl (and our narrator), and she is an okay character, but honestly nothing special or defining. Other than the fact that she was a book blogger, which was a cute shout out to the book bloggers, but I kind of felt like it was not really incorporated well.

I feel like this is something people will throw tomatoes at me for, but I did not find Daemon attractive AT ALL!! My Goodness! If the only two things you can say about a boy are “OH MY GOSH HE IS SO SMOKIN’ HOT!” and “OH MY GOSH HE IS SUCH A JERK/”DICK”!”, well….there’s nothing in it for me. There was absolutely zero care behind his cold stare, no depth to his character, which just made him look like a jerk.

*Cue tomato throwing*

And maybe it is just me, but I really hate informal writing. Using “teenager speak” words like “hot” and “stuff” over and over again in descriptive sentences irks me to no end! Please use a different word…THERE ARE SO MANY OTHER CHOICES! THESAURUS, PLEASE!

I could go into a lot more of this book in snarky detail, but I don’t want to be super negative.  I think you get the gist of how I feel (which is so against the norm, it’s not even funny). I really wanted to like this book. But I can’t.

But that doesn’t mean you won’t, so please do not count it out because of my review. Most people do love it. I just don’t. At all.

My Bookshelf Rating:

2shelfA Second Shelf Book.

I was really looking forward to this book because everyone loves it. Unfortunately, I didn’t. It’s nothing more than an alien retelling of Twilight. It’s the same story! And, I’m sorry to say, Daemon just wasn’t that attractive to me. He’s kind of a jerk. It was all just MEEEEEEEEEHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! It gets 2 (1.5) pity stars because I finished it. Nothing more, though.

The End.

Love and Road Trips!
Jennifer

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Obsidian

  1. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know says:

    I hate you didn’t enjoy it! I can completely see what you mean about it being so similar to Twilight. I agree and noted the same things when I was reading it. Damon does get more depth as the books go by, BUT I guess you’re not planning to read the others. 🙂 Hey…it happens.

  2. Sofia says:

    Too bad you didn’t enjoy it! I never thought about the similarities before, but I can see that there definitely are some. I don’t know if you have read any other books of the series, but the plot gets very different from Twilight saga in the next books. 🙂

  3. Reviews from a Bookworm says:

    I ended up enjoying this because it was a quick easy read! BUT OMG THANK YOU!!! I posted a list of reasons why I thought it was basically Twilight and so many people said they hadn’t seen the similarities. I was so confused, HOW COULD YOU NOT SEE THEM!!! There were so many. I DID NOT GET DAEMON EITHER! He was such a dick in that book and I didn’t understand the attraction. He gets a lot nicer in book two but is still a bit of a dick. Not sure I understand the attraction on that one.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

