Top Ten Tuesday! (50): These make it easy!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Things that Make Your Life as A Reader/Blogger EASIER!

I have always been a reader. But I didn’t start following bookish things (aka blogs) until my 2010. By the end of 2011, I was blogging myself. And through my blogging experiences, I have stumbled across these things that have made blogging AND reading so much easier! So here are my tricks! πŸ˜‰

1. Goodreads. This is a no brainer, but I REALLY wish I had known about this site back when it first started up. Because SERIOUSLY, this is the BEST way to keep track of what you have read, what you thought about it, and what books you want to read next! Plus, it is a great way to meet other readers and get involved!

2. Twitter. I was against twitter from the start. Why would I want to join a site where all you do is post short facebook statuses? Guys, twitter is such an AMAZING tool to connect with other readers, bloggers, and even your favorite authors! The twittersphere is a very awesome community and a great place to be. You can always find someone who reads the same stuff you do, watches the same shows, hates the same books, etc. And you can talk and rant and rave TOGETHER!

3. A library card. As I am an employee at a library, and as I am pursuing my Masters in Library and Information Studies, I AM A LIBRARY PUSHER! Libraries are a free service to the public that provide you with a magical gateway to places unknown, and you don’t have to spend money! You may have to wait anxiously for a book to come back in, but I find many of my books simply by perusing the shelves! Plus, many of your local libraries also have movies and tv shows! I use my library card OFTEN and IN LARGE AMOUNTS. Currently I have over 40 items checked out. And 20 holds. Yeah…. =)

4. A favorite “big book blog”. There are all different kinds of book blogs, and they come in all different sizes. I have found that following a big-name book blog helps you discover more books. Typically, the blogs with a HUGE internet presence have access to a lot of opportunities, and in the blogging world, opportunities means books! So rather than trying to figure out where you can find lists of soon-to-be-released books, follow a blog already in the know. Honestly, this saves me time and energy. Just be sure to find the ones you like.

5. Readathons. A great way to meet a lot of people as crazy and intense about reading/blogging as you is to join in the readathons! I have met many awesome people through readathon chats and hashtags. Plus, it is a really easy way to see what a lot of people are reading all in one go!Β  Want to join one right now? Bout of Books is going on THIS WEEK!

6. A local used book store. The booklover in me who just wants ALL THE BOOKS knows that she can’t always buy ALL THE BOOKS NEW. So finding a used book store nearby has been a lifesaver! If you don’t have a designated used book store, try looking at Salvation Army/Goodwill stores or your local library bookstore. Those are other good places to buy books cheap!

7. A blogger you admire. Find at least one blogger that inspires and motivates you. This can be because they post interesting discussions, or you just love their snarky review tone. But identifying a blog that you want to be like is a great place to start figuring out who you want to be a blogger.

8. A couple of reading places. Have a few favorite reading places. So that way, you can keep changing it up. Identify your comfy spots in your home as well as outside of it. Find a favorite coffee shop. Or park bench. Or spot of grass. So that you know where you need to go when you want to get some dedicated reading time.

9. A book BFF. Find someone that you can talk ALL THE FEELS with. Because you need someone in your life. This person can be a real-life friend, or a fellow blogger you met via Book Blogging. But have at least one outlet where you can SQUEEEEE and SCREAM!

10. Audiobooks. Listening to books really helps me read twice as many books. I listen to audiobooks when I am driving, when I am cleaning, when I am working (or rather, used to. can’t do that at my desk job now), when I am knitting, and even when I am showering! All the times when you can’t read, you can LISTEN! And it is SO GREAT!

11. A subscription reader. Whether it is feedly or bloglovin or some other reader, using one really helps you follow all the blogs. All of the posts are in one place. And you can read SO MANY THINGS!

So, those are my things. What are your things? Are yours similar to mine? Let me know!

Love and Target,
Jennifer

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (50): These make it easy!

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      No problem! Used book stores are like my best friend, really. I like figuring out if there is one in every city I visit and try and go there. Because different regions have different books on the shelves, at least from what I have noticed. =)

I'd love to know your thoughts!

