My July and August 2013

My Month in Review

This will be where I list the books I have read this month, movies I have seen, notable acquisitions, and anything else that I find worthy of telling you. =)

Back to School I Go!:

I apologize for my lack of posting as of late. I have started Grad school for a Masters of Library Science. So, between driving two hours twice a week, working 3-5 days a week, and keeping up with a massive amount of reading, my blogging has suffered. I think I have started to chisel out a schedule that includes blogging, so we will see.

I am really enjoying school. It is fun to learn more about the profession I am already a part of. I have met some new friends and have begun to figure out exactly what I want to focus on while in school. =)

Also, thanks to my brother, I have now become addicted to Candy Crush!

Now, I have been reading quite a lot the latter part of summer! Here is my list!

July Books Read:Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick on audio (3.5 stars)
Zebra Forest by Adina Rishe Gewirtz (3 stars)
Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan on audio (5 stars)
Joyland by Stephen King on audio (5 stars)
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (3.5 stars)
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabstein (5 stars)
Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks [graphic novel] (4 stars)
Another Little Piece by Kate Quinn (3 stars)
Maybe Tonight by Birdie Clark (1 star)
The Walking Dead Volume 18 [graphic novel] (2.5 stars)
Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout (1.5 stars)
When She Woke by Hillary Jordan on audio (3.5 stars)

 July Stats

Total Books:  12 books

Total Pages:  3340 pages

Total Minutes:  2065 minutes

Favorite New Book(s) Read This Month:  Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, Joyland

August Books Read:
Nothing Could Possibly Go Wrong by Faith Erin Hicks and Prudence Shen [graphic novel] (3 stars)Fragments (Partials, #2)
The Year of the Book by Andrea Chen (4.5 stars)
Zom-B Angels by Darren Shan (2.5 stars)
Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight (4 stars)
War at Ellsmere by Faith Erin Hicks [graphic novel] (3 stars)
The Mother-Daughter Book Club by Heather Vogel Fredrick (4 stars)
Brain Camp by Susan Kim and Faith Erin Hicks [graphic novel] (3 stars)
Partials by Dan Wells [reread] (5 stars)
The Fairy Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley (3 stars)
Fragments by Dan Wells (5 stars)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling on audio (4.5 stars)
Heartsick by Chelsea Cain [reread] (5 stars)
Sweetheart by Chelsea Cain [reread] (4 stars)
Evil At Heart by Chelsea Cain [reread] (4.5 stars)
Cardboard by Doug TenNapel [graphic novel] (4 stars)
The Night Season by Chelsea Cain [reread] (5 stars)
Kill You Twice by Chelsea Cain [reread] (5 stars)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling on audio (5 stars)
Bluffton by Matt Phelan [graphic novel] (2 stars)

August Stats:

Total Books: 19

Total Pages: 5664 pages

Total Minutes: 1038 minutes

Favorite Book(s) of the Month: Fragments, The Year of the Book

Challenge Update: New Authors Challenge:  36 out of 30 Audio Book Challenge: 16 out of 25 Stand Alone Reading Challenge: 12 out of 15 TBR Pile Challenge: 2 out of 12

So I need to focus on reading my own books. Haha. =)

My Posts and Reviews:

Audio Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham
Book Review: The Waiting Tree by Lindsay Moynihan
Book Review: Mini Reviews #6: Middle of the Road MG
Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. ArmentroutAudio Review: Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan
Book Review: Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella
Book Review: Zebra Forest by Adina Mishe Gewirtz

Top Ten Authors That Deserve More Recognition!
Top Ten Things That Make Blogging Easier
Top Ten Favorite Supporting Characters

Children’s Corner: New Books About Libraries!

And I participated in Bout of Books Readathon!

My July/August Movie Adventures: (With One Sentence Reviews!)

This year my co-workers have challenged me to watch more movies. So I have taken up a personal challenge (located under my 2013 Challenges tab) to watch some. So here are the ones I got to this month.
 I took July off from watching movies. But I still managed to watch three!cloud-atlas-soundtrack
CLOUD ATLAS!!!!! Guys, this movie is BRILLIANT! I didn’t really like the book all that much, but the movie was so perfect! It was great to see these stories visually! It just added so much!
Alien: I know that this is supposed to be a horror movie, but it just made me giggle. Good movie, but kind of funny. =)
The Lovely Bones: This was a solid book adaptation! Granted, the book is still better. But I thought Peter Jackson did a pretty okay job, overall!
My Book Acquisitions:
I added quite a few books to my personal library this month, and all for about $1 a book!
Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
A Mango-Shaped Space by Wendy Mass
Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
The Second Coming by Walker Percy
Adorkable by Sarra Manning
Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke
The Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
The Curse of the Wendigo by Rick Yancey
The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
~*~*~*~*~

Well, that is all for My Month in Review! What was your favorite book you read this summer? Favorite movie you saw? What are you most looking forward to reading next month! Comment and let me know! =)

Love and Being All Settled,

Jennifer

I'd love to know your thoughts!

