I AM BANNING SHINY COVERS!

I have a confession to make–I am OBSESSED with my holds list at the library! Pretty much every time I go to work, I compare my “To-Read” Goodreads list to the records on the catalog, waiting for new books to be added so I can be one of the first holds on them. It is a great system, really.

Until you get all of these new, shiny books because THEY ARE THE BOOKS TO READ, and then I am not A) in the mood to read them or B) I have WAY too many at the same time to possibly read in three weeks!

Yes, I have a problem. A big problem, but one I am okay with most of the time because, HEY! I work here anyway!

But here is the thing. I have looked at my To-Read list for more books to add, and I realized…I HAVE NOT MANY BOOKS COMING OUT IN NOVEMBER AND DECEMBER. WHAT AM I EVER GOING TO DO?!?!

tumblr_mvuuvp8Kn71qao9b8o8_250

Well, I have decided…I am going to BAN myself from putting new releases on hold.

Yes, I am BANNING ALL THE SHINY BOOKS!

I am going to focus on reading books from my MASSIVE BACK LIST of To Read books! With the exception of like 3 books already on my holds list, I am going to read older books, books that I have wanted to read for a while but have kept putting off because of all the shiny new books that keep coming out!

I have already got quite a few books collected for the next two months, and I must admit…I AM REALLY EXCITED! These are books I have put off for LONG ENOUGH!

So, I am sorry nice, pretty, shiny new books, but YOU SHALL NOT DISTRACT ME! (Okay, they probably will, but I WILL [try to] RESIST!). If you are not already on my holds list, you can wait until 2014.

tumblr_lf8ug9b1TC1qarpq7

I will not be bogged down by the shiny! I will read the books I have put off for TOO LONG!

tumblr_inline_mq1rtgVIWJ1qdda6l

~*~*~*~

Have you ever gone through a period of banning new books? Did you succeed? Did you enjoy taking a break from the pressure? Do you have any advice for me?

Love and Pepperoni,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “I AM BANNING SHINY COVERS!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

