Book Review (In letter form): Fangirl

16068905Title/Author: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary/Realistic Fiction, Romance, Standalone

Published: September 10th, 2013 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Hardcover, 434 pages

How I Got This Book: Checked it out from the library.

Why I Picked It Up?: Ummmm, it’s a book by Rainbow Rowell. DUH!!

Book Jacket Blurb: “Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?”

Thoughts (In letter format):

Dear Rainbow Rowell,

My heart is full of all of those Feely Goodies, and I have you to thank. This is the second book I have read by you, and once again you have impressed me beyond any of my wildest expectations.

You have created a story that was SO ENGROSSING, I just couldn’t put it down. In fact, this was the night I stayed up until 6am because I literally could not sleep without finishing this book! I found myself so involved with these characters and all of the different stories that Fangirl includes.

I remember my middle school days when I was OBSESSED with Harry Potter Fanfiction. I read it, I wrote it, I lived it. So I COMPLETELY understood Cath  and Wren and their lives revolving around the Simon Snow fanfiction world for so long! It is honestly a fantastic world to live in, full of so many stories and so many pathways for your favorite characters and series! When I got to high school, my schedule prevented me from being able to continue in that world. And that’s okay. That’s what happened to Wren–her priorities changed. That’s okay. But it is also okay that Cath wanted to finish what she started. Because her entire life revolved around her creative ending to this fantastically huge book series in her life! I understood her completely, and I loved her for it!

The world of Simon and Bas is so real and vivid and just as much a part of this novel as the present story itself. By the end of this book, I wanted these books and stories published! I WANT TO READ THIS SERIES because I AM IN LOVE WITH THESE CHARACTERS. Also, I want access to Cath’s Fanfiction profile so I can read all of these stories in full!

PLEASE, MS. ROWELL, PLEASE GIVE ME THIS! ❤ =)

Also, thank you for creating a young gentleman like Levi. He is probably the most realistic boy I have read in a really long time, because he is just a boy. He does not fit any sort of YA/NA boy mold, and I LOVE THAT SO MUCH! He is written much like many other authors write their secondary male characters–the friendly, consistent side-kick types that I tend to like a lot more than the main boy–except he is the main boy! I love his genuine, goofy personality. He is just so REAL and I WANT HIM IN MY LIFE! I just fell in love with him so quickly and so easily because he is such a likeable guy. That is just so refreshing in this genre, honestly, and I thank you for introducing real down-to-earth male characters in your novels (Why yes, I am talking about Park, too!).

The relationships within the family unit are so realistic and so heart-breaking. Their pain is my pain, their feelings are my feelings. As a Family Studies major in undergrad, I understand family dynamics and how they affect each individual in a family unit, and I think that each of the characters reacts and deals with family issues in very real ways. The emotions were raw and real, and the emotional reactions were true to the situations they are going through. And I appreciate that so much.

Honestly, Ms. Rowell, this is the second book I have read by you (And I will be reading Attachments in the next month) and I am just blown away by your realistic and engaging story-telling. Your characters capture my heart. Your stories pull me in and will not let me go. Your writing connects with me on an emotional level, and they become a part of me. And I will not let them go. And I will keep re-reading them. Because they are real, they are true, and they are now me.

Love for ever and ever,

Jennifer

My Bookshelf Rating:

5shelfA Top Shelf Book!

From beginning to end, I was engrossed with all of the stories being told. Cath’s journey through navigating starting college with family issues and trying to keep up with her passion of writing fanfiction. But there is also the fanfiction story itself, which we get at the beginning of every chapter as well as snippets within the chapters. All of the characters–both real and fanfictional–are unique and intriguing. I fell in love with every single aspect of this novel. There is something about a coming of age, new adult story revolving around a HUGE story in and of itself. LOVE LOVE ALL THE LOVE!

Love and Hot Apple Cidar,
Jennifer

5 thoughts on “Book Review (In letter form): Fangirl

I'd love to know your thoughts!

