Where I’ve Come From, Where I am Going

When I started this blog at the end of 2011, I had just graduated from college and gotten married and secured myself a part-time job. Needless to say, I had a lot more time on my hands than I was used to. So I turned to filling my time with reading A LOT (Because, hey, what else is there to do, especially when I didn’t have cable). I blogged about what I read. I joined the book blogging community. I got a twitter. I tweeted with people. And all that jazz.

But since the inception of A Librarian’s Library, things have slowly changed. As I sit here, so close to my two year anniversary, I am reflecting upon the journey that A Librarian’s Library has taken and how things have changed pretty drastically over the last year.

A Librarian’s Library in 2012:
~I posted 258 blog posts.
~I read 151 books
~I reviewed 92 books*.
~Review Rate = 61%
~Percentage of Posts that are Reviews = 36%
~I got a second job in July, so I went from working 2-3 days a week to 6 days a week.

 

A Librarian’s Library in 2013:
~I have posted 82 blog posts.
~I have read 137 books so far.
~I have reviewed 29 books so far*.
~Reviewed Rate = 21%
~Percentage of Posts that are Reviews = 35%
~I quit one of my jobs in May, moved, got promoted, and started school.

*Number is higher. This stat counts “Mini-Review” posts as reviewing one book.

Well, at least my review percentage has stayed consistent. =)

I have found that, this year especially, I have been reading really quickly, yet I have not been reviewing nearly as much. For me, reviews take more time than most people to write. And since my time has been strained quite a lot this year, it is natural that my blog post numbers have dropped a lot. It makes me sad when I see all of these numbers next to each other. I feel like I have let myself down. But, deep down, I know that I have done what I could this year.

tumblr_ltdzv4HGwn1qh5ll7o1_500

But you know what, it’s okay.

I love having my own little space on the internet. It’s a place that is all mine, where I can express my thoughts and air my grievances and fangirl! But, life happens. I have to pick and choose what I have to do during my day, and sometimes blogging is at the bottom of the list. And that is okay. I still like blogging, but I don’t have the time I had when I started to invest on a daily basis.

Something I have learned over the last couple of months: It is okay if I do not review every book I read! I think I was putting SO MUCH PRESSURE on myself to write up a review on EVERY single book I read that I had a backlog of SO MANY REVIEWS that needed writing. That backlog was SO INTIMIDATING that I just kept avoiding it. Like this.

tumblr_lndk8guXYw1qm17koo1_250

And so, many months passed and I still hadn’t written that review on that book I read in February. But now….Now I know that it is okay. I do not HAVE to review EVERYTHING! I can just review the books about which I have really strong feelings. I know this seems pretty simple, but it has been a huge revelation for me and has allowed me to feel SO MUCH BETTER about my blog.

And that is the most important thing, right?

So, the moral of this post is simple: My blog is changing, and that is okay. I don’t update daily (Sometimes not even weekly), and that is okay! I post when I can (and I will try to work more blogging time into my schedule, now that it has become less daunting). I will include more discussion posts about random thoughts. This blog will still be me, but it will just be more me. Not the me I was when I started this blog, but the me I am now.

tumblr_mw6c7sU4p11sg96flo1_400

A Librarian’s Library is going to have a new feel. It will be more about what I want to say, and less about what I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD say. I want to be more approachable, and I want to be more me.

I will still be reviewing books, but they will be in whatever format I need to get my feelings across. I will still be participating in Memes and Readathongs, because I just love those. And I will begin to talk more, so that you all can get to know me a little better.

So, here’s to the final month of 2013. Let it be a refreshing time for us all as we wrap up another year.

Dumbledore Dance!

tumblr_lnepfqLv9J1qm17koo1_400

Love and Being Yourself,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Where I’ve Come From, Where I am Going

I'd love to know your thoughts!

