Top Ten Tuesday! (56): Favorite New to Me Authors of 2013

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten New to Me Authors of 2013!!

Debut Authors

Deborah Meyler: She wrote one of my favorite novels of the year, The Bookstore (My Review), which is beautiful and emotional. She has a way with words that is just intoxicating to the soul. If you want a new-adult novel that tugs at your heart strings and centers around a love of a bookstore, pick her book up.

Suzanne Young: Right out of the gate, she has written a YA dystopia-of-sorts that is SO MUCH MORE than the typical novel of the genre. Such an intricate and thought-provoking series beginning in The Program, and I am super excited to see how this series continues!

Illustrator Storytellers

Sara Varon: Such a storyteller through illustrations! Sara has written many graphic novels for children, including one of my favorites for the year, Robot Dreams, a wordless-yet-powerful story. Love.

Faith Erin Hicks: Another fantastic artist! She has illustrated many graphic novels over the years but has also ventured into writing her own stuff. I did a review of all of her work earlier this year.

Epic World Builders

Richelle Mead: Finally, vampires and humans that kick ass! What a wonderful lore that Richelle has written. I just ADORED the entire Vampire Academy series, and I look forward to reading Bloodlines soon!

George R.R. Martin: I really don’t think I need to say anything more than GAME OF THRONES! Other than, if you feel intimidated by this series but have an interest in reading it, try the audios! They are GREAT!

Marie Lu: Every one talks about how much the LOVE Legend! Well, they have reasons to. Because this series is action-packed, and I just LOVE her characters! I need to read Champion soon!

Emotion-Invokers

Rainbow Rowell: Do I really need to say more? RAINBOW ROWELL IS AMAZING! She writes novels that are just….indescribable, really. My Fangirl letter.

A.S. King: I have only read Ask the Passengers so far, but guys….A.S. King is such a lyrical writer who truly captures raw emotion. What a beautiful writer who writes those stories you continue to think about when you are through.

Lisa Graff: She wrote a BEAUTIFUL magical realism story, A Tangle of Knots (My review), that was filled with yummy cake recipes that was published this year, and I just adored it! She is an author I want to read more of!

 

So, who are your favorite new authors from this year?

Love and ABC’s Revenge, my new obsession,
Jennifer

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (56): Favorite New to Me Authors of 2013

  1. Alex @ The Book Banner says:

    The Deborah Meyler book sounds really interesting. I think that’s going on my list for next year, Rainbow Rowell is definitely on my list for 2014 too, I’m really excited to read her books.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT!
    Alex @ The Book Banner

I'd love to know your thoughts!

