2013 Best Speculative Reads

Hello lovely readers! I am back with more “Best of” 2013s! Today, I am going to feature my favorite reads in the speculative fiction genres!

If you have been reading my blog for any length of time, you will know that I love me some good speculative fiction. Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Adventure, Post-Apocalyptic….I love the depth of world-building a good speculative fiction novel can reach! And this year, I have read quite a few that I have continued to rave about to all the people that I come into contact with! So, in no semblance of order, here are my best of speculative fiction reads for this year! (I will break them down into sub-genres, though!)

Fantasy:

Asunder (Newsoul, #2)Asunder by Jodi Meadows
(Incarnate #2)

Link to review of Incarnate

My Snippet Review: Jodi Meadows is such a beautiful writer. She just transports you directly into her broken world of souls. She has created a world that is beautiful and unique and full of intrigue. And Sam and Ana are characters you just fall in love with and root for. Love.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra ClareClockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)
(Infernal Devices #3)

Links to Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince reviews

My Snippet Review: If you have been searching for the most perfect series ending, then you should be sure to read the Infernal Devices. This final book in the trilogy wraps up the story so perfectly, I just can’t even describe to you how emotional and happy and beautiful it is. This is the best series ender I have ever read. There was nothing left unsaid, no questions, just literary perfection.

Vampire Academy Collection (Vampire Academy, #1-3)Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead
(Vampire Academy #1-6)

Link to my review of Vampire Academy

My Snippet Review: This series is what you want a vampire series to be! Kick-ass heroine who beats the snot out of the bad guys, SUPER SEXY boys, and a whole lot of conspiracy and trouble! This series as a whole is fast-paced, entertaining, and super addicting! Once you start, you won’t want to stop until you finish!

Magical Realism:

A Tangle of Knots by Lisa GraffA Tangle of Knots

Link to My Review

My Snippet Review: I found this book to be a quick and pleasant read.  The characters, though there were many of them, were so likeable, and each plays a role in the Fate of this novel!  Plus, there were many yummy cake recipes!  Overall, this was just a magical experience for me, and I love magical experiences!

Science Fiction:

Fragments (Partials, #2)Fragments by Dan Wells
(Partials #2)

Link to My Review of Partials

My Snippet Review: Holy goodness this second book is just as fantastic as the first one! The dystopian world-building is so in-depth, and in this novel it expands beyond the island Kira and company have lived on. Now, Kira and Samm are traveling across the nation to find a hint of what happened to kill the world they used to know. We meet new and loveable characters, and this intense world gets even more intense. The final book in this trilogy will be AWESOME!

The Program by Suzanne Young The Program (The Program, #1)
(The Program #1)

My Snippet Review: This book really makes you think and reflect on a lot of things, especially regarding mental illness. It grips you from the beginning and you can’t stop until you are done. The characters Suzanne creates are compelling and worth reading about, making this book gripping and intriguing. Definitely one of my favorite reads of the year!

The Elite (The Selection, #2)The Elite by Kiera Cass
(The Selection #2)

Link to my reviews of The Selection and The Elite

My Snippet Review: The Elite took the fun and entertaining momentum from The Selection and built upon it from beginning to end! There is a lot more character development with America and Maxon, and the world that they live in is revealed a little bit more, too. I found myself being thrown into extreme emotional distress while reading. What this story lacks in depth it makes up for in entertainment and enjoyment, and sometimes that’s just as important to me! I couldn’t put this one down! Must be my love for The Bachelor, eh?

Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2)
(Under the Never Sky #2)

Link to My Review of Under the Never Sky

My Snippet Review: Oh em gee can you say Roar and Perry?!?!? This second novel takes Under the Never Sky and expands it in directions that I never thought it could go! I am in love with this series! (I know that doesn’t really tell you anything about this book, but I can’t really say anything more than HOLY COW IT’S AMAZING!!!)

Adventure:

16054808Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein

Link to My Review

My Snippet Review: This book is honestly just SUPER FUN! It is very Hunger Games/Survivor-esque, filled with board-game adventures in a library! This is just a grand ole time of a read! As a reader, you solve the clues as Kyle and his friends solve them! On the plus side, it teaches you about the Dewey Decimal Classification system! So, read an adventure and learn about your library, too!

So, which of these speculative fiction novels have you read this year? Did you love them, too? Let me know and we can discuss!

Love and Hot Cocoa,
Jennifer

4 thoughts on “2013 Best Speculative Reads

I'd love to know your thoughts!

