Most Disappointing Reads of 2013

Well, as 2013 slowly comes to a close, and I have reflected upon my favorite reads, listens, and views, I have also remembered the not so great things I have experienced this year. There have been many books that I have picked up thinking I would enjoy them, and yet I did not. https://alibrarianslibrary.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/tumblr_ma25epur5v1rw13co.gif

Not liking a book really makes me sad, because I want to love every story I pick up. But alas, I am bound to find some reads I just do not agree with. Here is a list of mine for this year.

The DNFs:

Taken (Taken, #1)Taken by Erin Bowman
(Taken #1)
360 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: This is a story that had a lot of potential. I actually enjoyed it in the first 70 pages. And then around page 75, the crazy INSTALOVE scenes came out of nowhere, the writing became choppy, and the story became SUPER formulated. Everything follows a formula, and none of the emotions seem sincere. Just…nope. I put it down and went on my merry way.

Since You Asked by Maureen Goo Since You Asked
262 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: I was really looking forward to this book. It sounded cute and fun. It was not. There is nothing realistic about this book. The structure of high school is not correct. No school puts 5 sophomores on the ballot for Homecoming Queen (I realize that this also happens in Mean Girls, with juniors, but Mean Girls is a classic. This is no where near that caliber of YA). Also, people don’t act the way they do in this book. I know that it is supposed to be exaggerated, but this is beyond necessary. I did appreciate Holly’s snark, but otherwise she was kind of bland. And so was everyone else. Just bland and over-exaggerated. Skip it.

The “WTF DID I JUST READ”s:

Maybe Tonight?Maybe Tonight? by Birdie Clark
(Snap Decision #1)
224 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: I don’t understand this. And I thought that the story was stupid and really unrealistic. And it is not well explained… my story line just ended and nothing happened. Maybe I am just not the right audience for a choose your own adventure story. Because it was just awkward. There is zero development. And maybe I am just naive, but I feel like I would nor act like this when I was a 14 year old. Waste of my time.

If I Should Die by Amy Plum If I Should Die (Revenants, #3)
(Revenents #3)
405 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: You know, I went into this book with an open mind, despite the fact that I didn’t think too highly of the first two books in this series. And then I read the first 30 pages. And they were pretty horrible. This book picks up right where book 2 leaves off, and it is so incredibly choppy and not believeable at all. And that really just has to do with the writing. It is just poor and not convincing and a bit annoying. And honestly, this book needed some more editing.

After I realized this book was even worse than the first two, I skimmed the rest. I still wanted to know what happened in the end of this series, to see if there was some redemption to the story. But there wasn’t. At the end of this series, it just wasn’t worth my time. Too rushed, too unfinished, too convenient, too blah. Oh well. It happened.

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout Obsidian (Lux, #1)
(Lux #1)
335 pages

Link to My Full Review, complete with comparison chart

What Sat Wrong With Me: I was really looking forward to this book because everyone loves it. Unfortunately, I didn’t. It’s nothing more than an alien retelling of Twilight. It’s the same story! And, I’m sorry to say, Daemon just wasn’t that attractive to me. He’s kind of a jerk. It was all just MEEEEEEEEEHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! It gets 2 (1.5) pity stars because I finished it. Nothing more, though. The End.

The Failed Potentials:

Revolution 19 by Gregg Rosenblum Revolution 19 (Revolution 19, #1)
(Revolution 19 #1)
265 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: This book fell flat for me. While I liked the premise of a world where robots rule, there was very little world development. And the characters were one dimensional–no development with any of them at all. And a lot of the plot was convenience-based. I finished it, though, so that says something. Overall, this book is just okay.

The F- It ListThe F-It List by Julie Halpern
256 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: While this blurb had the potential to turn into a decent story, I just found myself not connecting with any of the characters. I just read an entire book about a girl with cancer and had no emotional reactions at all. I didn’t care about them. And the relationships portrayed in this book….not encouraging at all. And maybe I am naive, but the characters in this story did not seem like high schoolers to me. They didn’t act like any high schoolers I have ever known or been. Maybe that is why I didn’t care about them–they just didn’t seem real to me. At all. Just a bunch of MEEEEEEEHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

The Unexpected Style Deviations:

Allegiant by Veronica RothAllegiant (Divergent, #3)
(Divergent #3)
526 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: There were a LOT of style deviations from the first two in this series to the third, and they affected my read of this book. Introducing dual perspectives, introducing HUGE ideas and not expounding or explaining them. And rushing key development spots. It just wasn’t what I wanted from this book at all. I don’t think there was anything wrong with how the story ended, just the way in which Roth chose to get to the end, and through the end, that I had a problem with.

Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4)Inferno by Dan Brown
(Robert Langdon #4)
462 pages

What Sat Wrong With Me: This book has strayed from the style of his previous novels, and it just didn’t really work well for me. Which makes me sad, because I love Dan Brown. But the pacing of this “thrilling” mystery was way off. It was like Dan Brown wanted to experiment with his style of thriller writing. I am all about that, really, but don’t do it in the middle of your best-selling series! Write another standalone! But it is what it is. 2.5 stars, with the potential to have been better if I hadn’t gotten so bored during g the first 350 pages. 😦

Overall, it was not a disappointing year of reading at all! But these were the books that stood out for me in a negative way, and I just thought I would share them with you.

Did you have any adverse feelings towards these books? Were there some books that disappointed you greatly that I didn’t mention? I would love to know!

Love and Peanut Butter Balls,
Jennifer

6 thoughts on “Most Disappointing Reads of 2013

  1. Anna says:

    Ahhh! I keep hearing bad things about Allegiant and it makes me not want to finish it…it might go the way of Requiem by Lauren Oliver and Reached by Allie Condie – infinitely on my to-read list because I’m a gigantic baby about bad series enders! LOL

I'd love to know your thoughts!

