My Top Ten Books of 2013!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Well, here is a challenge to myself. Featuring my top ten FAVORITE reads of 2013! What a difficult task! I have read some pretty fabulous books this year. But alas, I will limit them to my ten favorites! So, without further ado, here are my

Top Ten Books of 2013!

In order to help me narrow my list down, I am giving out awards! So I hope you enjoy!

Best Adult Fiction:

16058645The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler! (My Review is here).
My one sentence re-cap: Such a genuine emotional journey of one of the best-written characters I have ever read.

Best New Adult Fiction:

16068905Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (My Review is Here)
My one sentence re-cap: Heart Gush Gush LURRRRRRRRRVE GUSH GUSH GUSH.

Best YA Fiction:

17237214

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan (My Mini-Review Here)
My one sentence re-cap: One of the most powerful and haunting books I have ever read.

Best Juvenile Fiction:

15818082

Destiny, Rewritten by Kathryn Fitzmaurice (My Review Here)
My one sentence re-cap: This book is so adorable I accidentally finished it in one sitting!

Best Illustrations:

17262290Journey by Aaron Becker (My Mini-Review here)
My one sentence re-cap: Such beautiful illustrations that tell a precious story.

Best Series Beginning:

11366397The Program by Suzanne Young (My Mini-Review here)
My one sentence re-cap: This is a dystopia that made me reflect not only on the story being told, but life. Very compelling, very real.

Best Series Ender:

6131164Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare (My Mini-Review here)
My one sentence re-cap: This is the perfect series wrap-up. No joke. Perfection.

Most Fun to Read:

16054808Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein (My Review here)
My one sentence re-cap: Seriously, this book is pure librarian fun and games!

The Book That Made Me Think:

15811543The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards by Kristopher Jansma (My Review Here)
My one sentence re-cap: A story about the art of story and character development; a narrator that makes you think and rethink everything.

Best Listen:

JoylandJoyland by Stephen King (My Mini-Review here)
My one sentence re-cap: Such a well-developed story read by a narrator that transforms into the main character.

~*~*~

Well, there are my top ten books for 2013. Did any of mine make your list? Did you like any of these too? Did you read something fantastic that you think I might like? Leave me a comment/link and let’s chat!

Love and HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Jennifer

27 thoughts on “My Top Ten Books of 2013!

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      Oh goodness it is! I feel like I have been pushing it on everyone, but I just loved it so much! It’s very bookish, very “finding yourself”…..a new adult coming of age story, if you will. But it is so beautifully written….sigh. =)

  1. Amanda @ Book Badger says:

    Fangirl is definitely one I’m looking into in 2014, everyone’s raved about it.
    I finally got Clockwork Princess and plan to finish the series next year too!
    Great list, wonderfully refreshing way to do it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kailana says:

    I am listening to Fangirl on audio right now. I am hoping I will enjoy it! Jealous you got around to the David Leviathan. I bought it and still haven’t read it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Happy reading in 2014 and thanks for visiting my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lucy says:

    Ooh wonderful list! I just gifted Mr. Lemoncellos Library and wished I had a copy for myself. And I completely agree with your thoughts on Clockwork Princess. Perfection. I need to catch up with the Bookstore next year, especially since it tops your list!
    Hope 2014 is another great year in books for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Genevieve says:

    I’ve been hearing so many rave reviews for Two Boys Kissing that I’m starting to think I’ll need to add it to my to-read shelf as well! It sounds like an interesting subject, but the use of a Greek Chorus or whatever it’s called has me a little hesitant…

I'd love to know your thoughts!

