My November and December 2013 in Review

My Month in Review

This will be where I list the books I have read this month, movies I have seen, notable acquisitions, and anything else that I find worthy of telling you. =)

On Life:

I finished my first semester of Grad School with a bang. There were a couple of weeks were I was hectically writing papers for all of my classes, but I finished everything and got a 4.0. Yippee!

Also, in December I have revamped my blog again. I am energized and ready for a new year of blogging and reading! I am going to try and make my blog more accessible and more discussion based, because I like discussion posts. I want my blog to become a source of my creativity.

Reading and Blogging:

November Books Read:Americus
Allegiant by Veronica Roth (3 Stars)
Doctor Sleep by Stephen King, Audiobook (4 stars)
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick (4 Stars)
The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin (4 Stars)
Boxers & Saints by Gene Luen Yang (4 Stars)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Audiobook (5 Stars)
The Most Human Human by Brian Christian (5 Stars)
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, reread (5 Stars)
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang (3 Stars)
Americus by M.K. Reed (5 Stars)
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling, Audiobook (5 Stars)
Jane, The Fox, and Me by Fanny Britt (3.5 Stars)

November Stats:
Total Books:
  13 books
Total Pages:  4786 pages
Total Minutes: 3819 Minutes

Favorite New Book(s) Read This Month:  Americus

December Books Read:
The Agony of Alice by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (4 Stars)Meant to Be
Parasite by Mira Grant (3 Stars)
Alice in Rapture, Sort Of by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (4 Stars)
Odd Duck by Cecil Castellucci and Sara Varon (5 Stars)
Monster on a Hill by Rob Harrell (4 Stars)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling, Audiobook (5 Stars)
Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol (4 Stars)
Crewel by Gennifer Albin, re-read (5 Stars)
Smile by Raina Telgemeier (4.5 Stars)
Weird Things People Say In Bookstores by Jen Campbell (4 Stars)
Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke (3.5 Stars)
Living with Less by Mary Lambert (3 Stars)
Legends of Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke (4 Stars)
Egghead by Bo Burnham (2 Stars)
Fruits Basket Volume 1 by Natsuki Takaya (3.5 Stars)
Reluctantly Alice by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (4 Stars)Odd Duck
Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill, Audiobook (4.5 Stars)
Lunch Lady and the Cyborg Substitutes by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (3.5 Stars)
The F-It List by Julie Halpern (2 Stars)
Lunch Lady and the League of Librarians by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (3.5 Stars)
Fruits Basket Volume 2 by Natsuki Takaya (4 Stars)

December Stats:
Total Books: 22
Total Pages: 5249 pages
Total Minutes: 1889 minutes

Favorite Book(s) of the Month: Odd Duck, Meant to Be

2013 Yearly Stats!

191 Total books
158/150 (Non-picture) Books!
2013 Page Count: 50518 pages!!
2013 Minutes Listened To: 21327 minutes (355.5 hours)!


My Posts and Reviews:

Book Review: Fangirl
Book Review: The Westing Game
Reflections: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock
Book Review: The Agony of Alice

Introduction to The Alice Project

Confessions from the Library: I Am Banning Shinny Covers!
Confessions from the Library: Where I have Come From, Where I Am Going

Top Ten Anticipated Sequels!
Top Ten Things I Am Thankful For!
Top Ten 2014 Books I WANT RIGHT NOW!
Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR!
Top Ten Favorite New to Me Authors of 2013!

2013 End of the Year in Review Posts!Best Realistic Reads!
Best Picture Books!
Best Graphic Novels!
Best Speculative Fiction!
Best Audiobooks!
Best On Screen!
Most Disappointing Reads!
Top Ten Books of 2013!
End of the Year Bookish Survey!

Movies:

So, this year I set out to watch 40 movies on a list that my coworkers made for me, in an effort to watch more movies. While I only watched 9 movies that were on that list, I watch 68 movies total! I would say that is pretty successful!

I will continue to watch movies this next year, and I will continue to cross off from that original list. Some of my memorable watches from November and December are….

Sharknado–just as stupid funny as it looked!
City of Bones–Despite all of the blatant changes from book to film, I still found it really entertaining. I enjoyed it.
Catching Fire–Book to film perfection!
The Purge–Actually, I found this movie to have a lot more depth than I was expecting. Twists on twists on twists! Worth a watch!
The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug–No to spiders, yes to barrels, elves were fine, about 45 minutes too long for me.
Love Actually–Guys, WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG TO WATCH THIS?!?!?!

My Book Acquisitions:

17860739Well, I actually acquired a few books over the last two months!

Bought: Incarnate, Vampire Academy, The Magician’s Elephant

Christmas: S. (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!), Babar and Father Christmas, and The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessermore

~*~*~*~*~

Well, that is all for My Month in Review! What was your favorite book you read over the holidays? Favorite movie you saw? What are you most looking forward to reading in this new year! Comment and let me know! =)

Love and Salted Caramel,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “My November and December 2013 in Review

I'd love to know your thoughts!

